The University of Newcastle, through the Educator Network, has recently joined AdvanceHE (UK) with an Access Membership.  Access Membership brings together the latest and best practice in higher education, and provides access to services for professional development based on evidence and what works globally.

We encourage you to think about how to develop your own educator experience and professional development.  A number of resources and online tools are available for your use.  You now have access to:

  • digital support services such as the Accredited Programme Leaders Network, on AdvanceHE Connect, and new services for 20-21 including regional webinars, online standardisation exercises and online resources
  • a wealth of exclusive reports, publications and resources across key HE themes including education and EDI
  • bid for Good Practice Grants to develop and share practice around the globe
  • significant discount on AdvanceHE programmes, conferences and events and access to AdvanceHE Connect benefits such as member only networks and the global Connect Event Series of webinars.

Advance HE:

Advance HE members portal - My Advance HE

All University of Newcastle staff can create an account to access the secure members information.  We encourage you to do so, and also sign up for Advance HE Connect.

AdvanceHE Fellowships

Interested in applying for an AdvanceHE Fellowship?

Please complete The Educator Network's Expression of Interest form.

Advance HE award four different categories of Fellowship:

Fellowship application packs for each category may be downloaded directly from the Advance HE website (linked above), or by completing an expression of interest via tEN.

These four categories reflect the wide range of professional practice carried out by individuals who teach and/or support learning in higher education; from those who have a partial role in teaching/supporting learning through to senior professionals with strategic impact on teaching and learning in an organisational, national and/or international setting.

The four categories of Fellowship are awarded on the basis of evidence of personal professional practice which meets the requirements of one of the four Descriptors of the UK Professional Standards Framework (UKPSF). The UKPSF has been developed as a standards framework for the higher education sector that sets out the knowledge, skills and behaviours demonstrated by those teaching and/or supporting higher education learning.

Fellowships are awarded on the basis of a successful and effective demonstration of one of the four UKPSF Descriptors. In deciding which category of Fellowship to apply for at this stage in your career, you will need to determine which of the four Descriptors of the UKPSF is most appropriate to your practice and professional experience.

University of Newcastle staff can apply directly to AdvanceHE for Fellowship, however associated fees do apply. Please refer to the table of fees for "Direct application to the Advance HE (individual from a subscribing institution)".  In 2020 and 2021, a limited number of fellowships can be supported by the Educator Network as we work on our strategic approach.

Not sure what category to apply for?

The Fellowship Category Tool has been designed to help you reflect on your practice and provide you with information to help understand which category of Fellowship most closely reflects your current practice and ongoing professional development and career aspirations.

Need assistance with your application?

The Educator Network (tEN) can put you in touch with a mentor to assist you with your application and provide advice.   The Educator Network may also be able to sponsor a small number of applications, so please determine which category of fellowship you wish to apply for and then complete an expression of interest form before applying.

The Educator Network can be contacted via  

If you are interested in becoming a Mentor to fellowship applicants please email the Educator Network.


The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.