Information Security Awareness Training

Information Security Awareness Training

What is it?

As members of the University community, we all have a responsibility to safeguard the information assets entrusted to us. You have a critical role in ensuring the security of information; you are the last line of defence. To this end, the University has developed an awareness training program to equip you with the knowledge needed to help improve computer, network and information security.

What do I need to do?

All employees, contractors and third parties accessing University information systems need to complete the Information Security Awareness Training program. The training must be completed by all existing users and during onboarding for any new users.

Where is training available?

The Information Security Awareness training program is an online, self-paced training program available in Discover. It addresses topical issues in information security and is designed for employees of all levels and skillsets. The training should take approximately 30 minutes to complete.

Why do I need to do this?

This training aims to make us information-security aware and to strengthen our defences against cyber-attacks. Studies have shown that a substantial number of such attacks involve the unintended actions of users of information systems, and this risk can be significantly lowered through effective security awareness.

Protecting our data and information systems is a shared responsibility. By participating in these activities, you can hopefully avoid being the weakest link in our cyber defence chain.

When do I need to do this?

All employees, contractors and third parties accessing University information systems will be required to complete this training annually. Reminders will be sent to you via Discover. Please ensure you complete this training as required.


For more detail on information security resources please contact the IT Service Desk  on +61 2 492 17000 or email

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.