IT maintenance schedule 2018

IT maintenance is required to ensure the ongoing performance & reliability of our IT systems. Regular maintenance periods are scheduled to minimise the impact on the vital operations in the University calendar. The dates on this calendar have been discussed with relevant business representatives.

Explanation of the maintenance types are listed below the table and details of planned outages can be found on the IT Service Portal.

Reminders for these maintenance periods will be sent out when appropriate via Staff and Student communication avenues, including screensavers, digital signage, all Staff Emails, and Twitter and Facebook feeds.

START DATEFINISH DATEMAINTENANCE TYPE
Sat 27 Jan 8:00Sat 27 Jan 20:00Minor Maintenance

Current maintenance

START DATEFINISH DATEMAINTENANCE TYPE

Mon 5 Feb 8:00

Fri 23 Feb 17:00Change Freeze - Summer exams

Mon 19 Feb 8:00

Fri 23 Feb 18:00Change Freeze - Orientation Week

Sat 24 Feb 8:00

Sat 24 Feb 20:00

Minor maintenance

Mon 26 Feb 0:00

Wed 28 Feb 17:00

Change Blackout – Start of Semester 1

Wed 28 Feb 18:00

Tue 6 Mar 18:00

Change Freeze – Start of Semester 1

Sat 17 Mar 8:00

Sun 18 Mar 20:00

Major maintenance

Sat 14 Apr 8:00

Sat 14 Apr 20:00

Minor maintenance

Mon 16th Apr 8:00

Thu 26 Apr 17:00

Change Freeze – Singapore Tri 1 exams

Thu 3 May 8:00

Fri 11 May 17:00

Change Freeze – Trimester 1 exams

Sat 12 May 8:00

Sun 13 May 20:00

Major maintenance

Mon 4 Jun 8:00

Fri 22 Jun 17:00

Change Freeze – Semester 1 exams

Sat 23 Jun 8:00

Sat 23 Jun 20:00

Minor maintenance

Sat 14 Jul

Sun 15 Jul

Data Centre checks (no outages expected)

Sat 21 Jul 8:00

Sat 21 Jul 20:00

Minor maintenance

Mon 30 Jul 0:00

Wed 1 Aug 18:00

Change Blackout – Start of Semester 2

Wed 2 Aug 18:00

Tues 8 Aug 18:00

Change Freeze – Start of Semester 2

Mon 6 Aug 8:00

Fri 24 Aug 17:00

Change Freeze – Singapore and Trimester 2 exams

Sat 1 Sep 8:00

Sun 2 Sep 20:00

Major maintenance

Sat 22 Sep 8:00

Sat 22 Sep 20:00

Minor maintenance

Sat 27 Oct 8:00

Sat 27 Oct 20:00

Minor maintenance

Mon 5 Nov 8:00

Fri 23 Nov 17:00

Change Freeze – Semester 2 exams

Sat 24 Nov 8:00

Sun 25 Nov 20:00

Major maintenance

Thu 29 Nov 8:00

Wed  13 Dec 17:00

Change Freeze – Singapore & Trimester 3 exams

Sat 8 Dec

Sun 9 Dec

Data Centre checks (no outages expected)

Sat 15 Dec 8:00

Sat 15 Dec 20:00

Minor maintenance

Maintenance explanation

A period of time allocated for system maintenance. During these windows ALL services may experience interruptions. Notification of affected systems will be done on the IT Service portal (serviceUON) & on the IT maintenance schedule website. Throughout the year we have two types of windows, the difference between the two is simply the duration of the window:

  • Minor is a 12-hour window.
  • Major is a 36-hour window.

A small window when there is little impact on the users:

  • Blackboard – externally hosted. Friday morning between 2am and 6am.
  • UON managed systems - Friday mornings between 5am & 7am. There may be short outages to systems during this window, these will be advertised on serviceUON & the website.

No changes to systems are to be scheduled during this period to minimise risk in these student focused periods (start of semesters 1&2). The only changes during this period will be in response to, or to prevent major incidents, or to address ‘critical’ security patches.

During a change freeze nominated systems will not be changed unless in response to, or to prevent a major incident, or to address ‘critical’ or ‘important’ security patches. The periods where change freezes apply are:

  • O-week before Semester 1.
  • The lead up to exams through to the appeal period after exams.
  • Key student deadlines:
    • Offers;
    • Enrolment / re-enrolment;
    • Start of teaching;
    • Last day to add;
    • Census date;
    • Last day to drop;
    • Fully graded date;
    • Graduations.

Periods throughout the year where changes to nominated systems are avoided if possible.  Generally changes will only be made during these periods at the request of the business and if the risk is low. Change awareness periods apply:

  • In the days leading up to the key student deadlines, listed in the Change Freeze section above
  • When key business support processes are scheduled:
    • pay runs,
    • finance end of month,
    • finance end of year.

Some major outages and upgrades for systems are:

  • Squiz upgrade – January 22 through January 26
  • HPC outage – February 12 through February 16
  • Blackboard upgrade – December 15 through December 16 (to be confirmed in 2018)