Staff

Meet Alex Taylor, Lecturer in Digital Marketing & Marketing Technology Lab Manager - https://www.newcastle.edu.au/profile/alex-taylor

Alex Taylor

Alex’s research interests focus on the use of emerging technologies to aid customers in making better consumption decisions. Seeking to understand how positive psychology outcomes, such as empowerment and inspiration, can be achieved through customer experiences, Alex’ doctoral thesis explores how brands can best leverage Virtual Reality and Augmented Reality technologies to enhance the customer experience. The findings from his PhD, currently being prepared for submission to marketing journals, point to the use of immersive technology as an effective means to enhance the customers sense of self-efficacy. By digitally simulating future consumption experiences, brands are equipping customers with the necessary embodied knowledge to confidently seek out and replicate such experiences in the real world.

Academic Staff Research Profiles:

Learn more about the research programs of academic staff below:

Associate Professor Jamie Carlson https://www.newcastle.edu.au/profile/jamie-carlson

Associate Professor Alicia Kulczynski  https://www.newcastle.edu.au/profile/alicia-kulczynski

Associate Professor Tamara Young https://www.newcastle.edu.au/profile/tamara-young

Associate Professor Guil Pires https://www.newcastle.edu.au/profile/guilherme-pires

Dr P.J. Rosenberger https://www.newcastle.edu.au/profile/philip-rosenbergeriii

Dr Jessica Wyllie https://www.newcastle.edu.au/profile/jessica-wyllie

Dr Margurite Hook https://www.newcastle.edu.au/profile/margurite-hook

Dr Fred Chao https://www.newcastle.edu.au/profile/fred-chao

Dr Sonia Vilches-Montero https://www.newcastle.edu.au/profile/sonia-vilches-montero

Dr Ameet Pandit https://www.newcastle.edu.au/profile/ameet-pandit

Dr Paul Stolk https://www.newcastle.edu.au/profile/paul-stolk

Dr Patti Johnson https://www.newcastle.edu.au/profile/patricia-johnson

Dr Po-Hsin Li https://www.newcastle.edu.au/profile/po-hsin-lai

Dr Kym Cowley https://www.newcastle.edu.au/profile/kym-cowley

For more information about research, please contact Associate Professor Jamie Carlson Jamie.carlson@newcastle.edu.au or Alex Taylor alex.taylor@newcastle.edu.au

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.