Regional and Rural adjustment point scheme

HSC students who go to regional schools in selected postcodes are awarded up to an additional five adjustment points (previously called bonus points). It applies to all undergraduate degrees except the Bachelor of Midwifery and the Bachelor of Medical Science and Doctor of Medicine. You don't need to apply for this bonus – apply for your preferred degrees through UAC and the points are automatically added to your rank.

Enter the postcode of your high school into the calculator below to see if you are eligible for this adjustment.

Rural and remote areas are as classified by Ministerial Council on Employment, Education, Training and Youth Affairs classification of regions.
A maximum of 12 adjustment points can be granted overall from the various adjustment point schemes.

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.