Newton-John Award

The Newton-John Award recognises the innovation and creativity of alumni who have achieved excellence in arts, creative sectors, and culture.

The community has been inspired by past recipients working in film and television, leading animation studios, and world-class photography.

2020Heath Johns 
 Master of Marketing 2007
Master of Business Administration 2006
2019Nick Mitzevich (Recipient)
 Graduate Diploma in Education 1995
Graduate Diploma of Art 1993
Bachelor of Arts (Visual Arts) 1992
2019Gavin Langley (Achiever)
 Bachelor of Architecture 1992
Bachelor of Design (Architecture) 1988
2019Rosemarie Milsom (Achiever)
 Graduate Diploma in Education 1995
Bachelor of Arts 1994
2018Dr John Doyle AM
 Honorary Degree - Doctor of Letters 2001
Bachelor of Arts 1982
2017Susie Porter
 Bachelor of Arts 1993 
2016Conjoint Associate Professor Douglas Absalom
 Doctor of Philosophy (Linguistics) 1977
Master of Arts 1971
Diploma in Education 1968
Bachelor of Arts 1967
2015Jonathan Biggins OAM
 Bachelor of Arts 1985 
2014Dr Christian Heim
 Bachelor of Medicine 2000 
2013Anton Monsted
 Bachelor of Arts (Honours) 1995 
2013Karin Catt
 Bachelor of Arts 1991 
2012Linda Bergskas
 Bachelor of Visual Communication Design 2002 
2011Julie Squires
 Master of Fine Art 2006
Graduate Diploma in Art 1996
Bachelor of Arts (Visual Arts) 1994
2010Yasser Hamed
 Bachelor of Engineering (Mechanical) 2003 
2009Robin McDonald
 Bachelor of Commerce 1977 
2008Dr Philip Matthias
 Doctor of Philosophy (Music) 2005 
2007Alexia Sinclair
 Master of Fine Art 2008
Bachelor of Fine Art (Honours) 2003
2004Samantha Martin-Williams
 Master of Human Resource Management and Industrial Relations 2001,
Bachelor of Business 1995
2003John O'Donoghue
 Bachelor of Arts 1975 
2002Janice Vadnjal
 Bachelor of Nursing 1993
Diploma in Applied Science Nursing 1991
2001Professor Eileen Doyle
 Doctor of Philosophy (Mathematics) 1986
Master of Mathematics 1980
Bachelor of Mathematics 1977
2000Helene O'Neill
 Bachelor of Education 1990
Diploma in Teaching 1987
1999Dr Geoffrey Leonard AM
 Honorary Degree - Doctor of Business 2002
Bachelor of Commerce 1968
1998Paul Walsh OAM
 Graduate Diploma in Education 1978
Bachelor of Mathematics 1977
Bachelor of Engineering 1964
1997Paul Broad
 Master of Commerce 1981
Bachelor of Commerce 1974
1996Luise Diessel
 Graduate Diploma in Education 1989
Bachelor of Arts 1984
1995Ken Longworth OAM
 Bachelor of Arts 1962 
1994Marion Halligan AM
 Diploma in Education 1962
Bachelor of Arts 1961
1993Kevin McDonald
 Master of Educational Studies 1982 
1992John Robson
 Master of Arts 1977 
1991Marjorie Biggins
 Bachelor of Arts 1981 
1990Dr John Mathieson
 Doctor of Philosophy 1971
Bachelor of Science 1967
1988Kevin Snell
 Bachelor of Architecture 1975
Bachelor of Science (Architecture) 1973
1987Dr Anne von Bertouch
 Honorary Degree - Doctor of Letters 2002 
1986Dr Brian Gilligan 
 Honorary Degree - Doctor of Science 2004
Master of Arts 1979
Diploma in Education 1972
Bachelor of Arts 1969
1985Vic Rooney
 Bachelor of Arts 1976 
1984Robert Beal
 Bachelor of Arts 1980 
1983Roy Gilbert
 Bachelor of Arts 1969 
1982Conjoint Professor Trevor Waring AM
 Honorary Degree - Doctor of the University 2011
Master of Science 1977
Bachelor of Arts 1972
1981Dr Jessie Dyce 
 Doctor of Philosophy (English) 1984
Master of Arts 1971
1980Colin Anderson
 Bachelor of Arts 1963 
1979Alexander Young 
 Alumni Affiliate 1970 
1978Mary Callcott
 Bachelor of Science 1965 
1977Dr Brian Suters AM
 Honorary Degree - Doctor of Architecture 2000
Bachelor of Architecture 1962
1976Errol Hodge 
 Bachelor of Arts (N.E.) 1959 
1975Allan Morris
 Bachelor of Arts 1968

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.