International Leadership Award

The International Leadership Award recognises and honours globally based alumni who have excelled in their chosen field with international influence and whose achievements enhance the prestige of the University of Newcastle.

International Award recipients have included global CEOs, influencers in public health, innovators in engineering and energy champions.

Nominees must comply with the following selection criteria

  • Hold a minimum undergraduate Bachelor degree from the University of Newcastle
  • Be aged over 35 years at the time of nomination
  • Demonstrate leadership and/or entrepreneurship at an international level, in a non-academic sector.

2020 Recipient
Dr Kira Mileham

Global Strategic Partnership Director, IUCN Species Survival Commission
Doctor of Philosophy (Physics) 2011
Bachelor of Arts (Communication Studies) 2006
Bachelor of Science 2006

Dr Kira Mileham

In overseeing Strategic Partnerships for the Species Survival Commission of the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), Dr Kira Mileham is a ‘match-maker’ for the world’s leading species conservationists.

Kira works to connect 9,000+ scientists from 163 countries with organisations, governments, donors, and practitioners to collectively ensure species survival. Kira is galvanizing a global community of IUCN, zoos, and other conservation partners under an ambitious decade-long strategy to support governments in reversing trends in species loss. She helped orchestrate an unprecedented partnership to save the Sumatran Rhino by uniting partners like World Wildlife Fund and National Geographic Society with IUCN and the Indonesian Government under a common strategy.

Kira has lived in three continents and worked in 29 countries over the past five years. She sits on the Council of the World Association of Zoos and Aquariums and has catalysed millions of dollars in conservation partnerships.

Learn more about Dr Kira Mileham's story here.

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.