Indigenous Alumni Award

The Indigenous Alumni Award recognises alumni whose outstanding contribution has demonstrated engagement and impact working with Australian Aboriginal and/ or Torres Strait Islander communities.

Previous recipients include leaders who have made an impact in indigenous education, health and society.

Nominees must meet the following selection criteria

  • Hold a minimum undergraduate Bachelor degree from the University of Newcastle
  • Demonstrate outstanding achievement and/or contribution made by an Indigenous graduate in their chosen field, characterised by initiative and excellence
  • Only nominees who have established Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander status will be considered for this award

2020 Recipient
Shahni Wellington

Political Correspondent, NITV/SBS
Bachelor of Communication 2014

Shahni Wellington

Shahni Wellington is a proud Jerrinja woman of the Wandi Wandian people. She is an active member of the Darkinjung community on the Central Coast and has done outstanding work in her field of journalism, as the political correspondent and now senior presenter and journalist for National Indigenous Television (NITV).

She has also worked in the Northern Territory as a multi-platform reporter for ABC covering a range of news and current affairs including issues affecting Indigenous communities. While there, she was also a Coaching and Umpiring Development Manager for Netball NT and was appointed to the Northern Territory Government Women in Sport Committee.

Shahni is passionate about human interest stories and exploring how sport can be used as a vehicle for change. She has accomplished a range of achievements including as a finalist in the NT Media Awards for best sport coverage, completing a secondment to the Specialist Reporting Team in Sydney covering national Indigenous affairs and as a published author in ‘Growing Up Aboriginal in Australia'.

Learn more about Shahni Wellington's story here.

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.