Alumni Medal for Professional Excellence

The Alumni Medal recognises outstanding excellence in leadership, knowledge and professional practice. The Alumni Medal is the highest honour of the University’s Alumni Awards.

Previous recipients include exceptional global leaders in international diplomacy, urban renewal, trade and commerce and life changing medical research.

2020Professor Gail Garvey
 Master of Education 2001
Bachelor of Education 1987
2019Dr Ruth Lopert (Recipient)
 Master of Medical Science (Clinical Epidemiology) 2001
Bachelor of Medicine 1995
2019Steven McArthur (Achiever)
 Bachelor of Science 1993
2019Liesl Tesch AM (Achiever)
 Graduate Diploma in Education 1996
Bachelor of Science 1991
2018Gary Quinlan AO
 Honorary Degree - Doctor of Letters 2007
Bachelor of Arts 1973
2017Carla Treloar
 Doctor of Philosophy (Medicine) 1995
Bachelor of Science (Honours) 1991
2016Professor Er Meng Hwa
 Honorary Degree - Doctor of Engineering 2017
Doctor of Philosophy (Electrical and Computer Engineering) 1986
2015Laureate Professor Kevin Galvin
 Bachelor of Engineering 1987
2014Geoffrey Bentley
 Bachelor of Arts 1961
2013Ross Watts
 Bachelor of Commerce (Accountancy) 1966
2012David Currow
 Bachelor of Medicine 1987
2012Mark Parsons
 Bachelor of Medicine 1991
2011Dato' Ir Dr Abu Bakar Jaafar
 Bachelor of Engineering (Mechanical) 1973
2010Dr Cheong Koon Hean
 Honorary Degree - Doctor of Architecture 2010
Bachelor of Architecture 1981
Bachelor of Science (Architecture) 1979
2009Peter Silburn
 Bachelor of Science 1980
2008Sue McNeil
 Bachelor of Engineering (Civil) 1977
Bachelor of Science 1975
2007Nicholas Talley
 Master of Medical Science (Clinical Epidemiology) 2003
2004Professor Peter Stutchbury
 Bachelor of Architecture 1979
Bachelor of Science (Architecture) 1976
2003Emeritus Professor Joan Cooper
 Doctor of Philosophy 1975
Bachelor of Mathematics 1972
2002Emeritus Professor Warren Pengilley
 Doctor of Science (Law) 1988
Master of Commerce 1974
2001Conjoint Professor Trevor Waring
 Honorary Degree - Doctor of the University 2011
Master of Science 1977
Bachelor of Arts 1972
2000Dr Chris Rawlings
 Doctor of Philosophy (Geology) 1982
Bachelor of Science 1976
1999Ian Harris AO
 Master of Arts 1971
Diploma in Education 1968
Bachelor of Arts 1967
1998Dr William Jonas AM
 Honorary Degree - Doctor of the University 1998
Master of Arts 1970
Diploma in Education 1964
Bachelor of Arts (Honours) 1963
1997Dr Kenneth Moss AM
 Doctor of Philosophy 1974
Bachelor of Engineering 1968
1996Emeritus Professor Wan Rafaei Abdul Rahman
 Master of Science 1975
Bachelor of Science 1970
1995Professor Graeme Halford
 Doctor of Philosophy (Psychology) 1969
1995Katherine Heinrich
 Doctor of Philosophy (Mathematics) 1979
Bachelor of Mathematics 1976
1994Professor Eileen Doyle
 Doctor of Philosophy (Mathematics) 1986
Master of Mathematics 1980
Bachelor of Mathematics 1977
1993Professor Terrence 'Terry' Caelli
 Doctor of Philosophy 1975
Bachelor of Arts 1972
1991Emeritus Professor Ron MacDonald
 Bachelor of Science 1962
1991Associate Professor Marlene Norst
 Doctor of Philosophy 1972
1990Professor Peter Ramadge
 Master of Engineering 1979
Bachelor of Engineering 1978
1989Conjoint Professor Alexander Harrison
 Doctor of Philosophy (Mechanical Engineering) 1984
1988Professor Robert Eather AM
 Bachelor of Science 1962
1987Peter Cummings
 Bachelor of Mathematics 1976

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.