International Leadership Award

The International Leadership Award Recognises and honours globally based alumni who have excelled in their chosen field with international influence and whose achievements enhance the prestige of the University of Newcastle.

International Award recipients have included global CEOs, influencers in public health, innovators in engineering and energy champions.

2020Dr Kira Mileham
 Doctor of Philosophy (Physics) 2011
Bachelor of Arts (Communication Studies) 2006
Bachelor of Science 2006
2019Dr Isiye Ndombi (Achiever)
 Master of Business Administration 2009
2019Sherrill Whittington (Achiever)
 Diploma of Education 1970
Bachelor of Arts 1969
2018Professor Richard Wortley AM
 Bachelor of Arts 1978
2017Dr Bryson Bates
 Bachelor of Engineering 1978
2016Dr Suzanne Hill
 Graduate Diploma in Epidemiology 1997
Doctor of Philosophy (Medicine) 1994
Bachelor of Medicine 1982
2015Sein-Way Tan
 Bachelor of Commerce 1993
2014Brigadier Leonard Brennan AM
 Bachelor of Medicine 1988
2014Glenn Kellow
 Master of Business Administration 1993
Bachelor of Commerce 1989
2013Dr William Lilley
 Doctor of Philosophy (Environmental Science) 2008
Bachelor of Science (Honours) 1997
2012Tiffany See
 Bachelor Of Commerce 1997
2011Andrew Mears
 Master of Engineering (Electrical and Computer Engineering) 1992
Bachelor of Engineering 1987
2011Dr Peter Tay
 Honorary Degree - Doctor of Engineering 2015
Bachelor of Arts (Economics) 1973
Bachelor of Engineering (Industrial) 1972
2010Conjoint Associate Professor Wang Shuguang
 Doctor of Philosophy (Psychology - Science) 1998

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.