Exceptional Community Service Award

The Exceptional Community Service Award recognises the work of an outstanding community member who has made a significant impact, and has enhanced the reputation of the University of Newcastle and its relationship with the wider community.

Previous recipients have enriched society through their work in community fundraising, establishing arts and culture, and embedding sustainability models in local society.

2019Lee Shearer APM (Achiever)University of Newcastle Open Foundation Student
2019Philip Sketchley OAM (Achiever)Bachelor of Education 1988
2019Renée Bianchi (Achiever)Bachelor of Law / Diploma of Legal Practice 2007, Bachelor of Biomedical Science (Honours) 2004
2018Dr Bernard Curran AMDoctor of Philosophy 1974, Bachelor of Arts 1968
2017Dr Joanne McCarthyBachelor of Arts 2003, Honorary Degree - Doctor of Letters 2015
2016Dr Neelam PradhanangaDoctor of Philosophy (Architecture) 2011
2015Dr William TanBachelor of Medicine 2005
2014Judy White AMDoctor of Philosophy (History) 2002, Honorary Degree - Master of Arts 1988
2013Maree Gleeson OAMDoctor of Philosophy (Medicine) 1988
2013William Edward John Paradice AMHonorary Degree - Doctor of Letters 2009
2012Jennie Thomas AMDoctor of Philosophy (Behavioural Science) 2001, Master of Medical Science (Health Promotion) 1997, Graduate Diploma in Health Social Science 1993
2011Pauline Chiarelli 
2010Robert Nelson 
2009Pippa RobinsonBachelor of Arts (Visual Arts) 1986, Associate Diploma in Art And Craft 1983
2008Greg Hays

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.