Contact us

General enquiries

E: healthandsafety@newcastle.edu.au
T: (02) 4033 999 (extension 39999) - select option number 5

Health and Safety Team

See here (PDF, 35KB) for full details on the role and services provided by the Health and Safety Team.

Name and position Contact details
Mark Wylie
Associate Director, Employee Relations and Health & Safety
Strategic direction of Health & Safety, including legislation, policies and procedures. 
E: mark.wylie@newcastle.edu.au
T: 4921 5399
M: 0417 653 388 

Neill Bourne
Senior Health & Safety Advisor
Business Partner: Faculty of Engineering and Built Environment, NIER, Newcastle Innovation, Vice-Chancellor's Division and Ourimbah Campus. Plant and equipment, hazardous materials and dangerous goods.

E: neill.bourne@newcastle.edu.au
T: 4921 7330
M: 0439 449 016
Melissa Musicka
Senior Health & Safety Advisor & Technical Support
Business Partner: Faculty of Health and Medicine, HMRI, HNEAH and Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research & Innovation). Technical / Laboratory / Research, gene technology and hazardous materials, dangerous goods and radiation.
E: melissa.musicka@newcastle.edu.au
T: 4921 6846
Amy Stowe
Senior Health & Safety Advisor
Parentl leave until February 2021

E: amy.stowe@newcastle.edu.au
T: 4921 2053
M: 0429 493 355

Jodie Higginson
Senior Health & Safety Advisor
Business Partner: Academic Division, Faculty of Business & Law, Faculty of Education & Arts, Faculty of Science and Global Engagement & Partnerships Divison. Return to Work Coordinator. 
E: jodie.higginson@newcastle.edu.au
T: 4055 3229
M: 0448 157 781

Roanne Morris
Occupational Health Nurse
Health Surveillance and Health & Hazard Assessments

E: roanne.morris@newcastle.edu.au
T: 4921 6000
Sarah Williamson
Senior Health & Safety Advisor - Injury Management
Workers compensation, Return to work coordinator, Well to Work support and EIP and EAP contact.
E: sarah.williamson@newcastle.edu.au
T: 4921 7720
M: 043 890 8335

Leah Pringle
Health & Safety Advisor

Wellbeing training, First Aid coordinator, web publishing and systems maintenance.

E: leah.pringle@newcastle.edu.au
T: 4921 8847
Liz Pilgrim
Health & Safety Technical Officer

Safety and Risk assessment review process, Institutional Biosafety Committee and Chemical and Radiation Safety Committee coordinator.
E: liz.pilgrim@newcastle.edu.au
T: 4921 6542

Sharon Stow
Health & Safety Systems Officer

Systems maintenance, reporting, web publishing and Fitness Passport facilitator

E: sharon.stow@newcastle.edu.au
T: 4985 4579