On-campus medical centres

We provide medical centres staffed by doctors and nurses at our Newcastle (Callaghan) and Central Coast (Ourimbah) campuses.

Our medical centres are similar to a general doctors surgery and are open to both university students and staff. We are happy to see you about any issue that concerns you but some of the areas we can help include:

  • treatment of illnesses and injuries
  • women's health care including contraception, pap smears, pregnancy testing and advice, and antenatal care
  • testing and counselling for sexually transmitted infections
  • vaccinations, including travel immunisations and advice
  • immunisations required for students in health related programs
  • skin checks
  • assistance with emotional and personal difficulties
  • mental health services including psychologists, mental health nurse and specialist psychiatrist
  • referral to specialists, imaging services, pathology, and physiotherapy

Students and staff at both Newcastle (Callaghan) and Central Coast (Ourimbah) campuses have access to medical centres staffed by doctors and registered nurses.

Students covered by Medicare are bulk billed. You will need to present your Medicare card and a current Centrelink Health Care Card (if applicable) at consultations.

International students covered by Allianz Global Assistance, Medibank Private, ahm, BUPA, and nib are directly billed to their insurer, so there will be no out-of-pocket expenses for consultations – however be sure to bring documentation of your coverage.

Fees for staff and visitors are available here

While some services – such as medical examinations and certain immunisations – are not covered by Medicare or insurance, no student will be refused urgent medical care because of inability to pay at the time.

Appointments are necessary (except for emergencies) and usually last 15 minutes. If you think you need more time, please tell the receptionist when making your appointment. Please arrive 10 minutes early for your first appointment to complete the paperwork.

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.