The University of Newcastle, Australia

Maintenance schedule

IT maintenance is required to ensure the ongoing performance & reliability of our IT systems. Regular maintenance periods are scheduled to minimise the impact on the vital operations in the University calendar. The dates on this calendar have been discussed with relevant business representatives.

Explanation of the maintenance types are listed below the table and details of planned outages can be found on the IT Service Portal.

Reminders for these maintenance periods will be sent out when appropriate via Staff and Student communication avenues, including screensavers, digital signage, All Staff emails, and social media channels.

2019 schedule

START DATEFINISH DATEMAINTENANCE TYPE

Sat 1 Feb 8:00

Sat 1 Feb 20:00

Minor Maintenance

Sat 8 Feb 8:00

Fri 23 Feb 8:00

Change Freeze – Summer Exams

Mon 17 Feb 8:00

Fri 21 Feb 18:00

Change Freeze – Orientation Week

Sat 22 Feb 8:00

Sat 22 Feb 20:00

Minor Maintenance

Mon 24 Feb 0:00

Tue 25 Feb 18:00

CHANGE BLACKOUT – Start of Semester 1

Tue 26 Feb 18:00

Fri 28 Feb 18:00

Change Freeze – Start of Semester 1

Sat 28 Mar 8:00

Sun 29 Mar 20:00

MAJOR Maintenance

Sat 11 Apr 8:00

Sat 25 Apr 8:00

Change Freeze – Trimester 1 & Singapore Tri 1 Exams

Sat 25 Apr 8:00

Sat 25 Apr 20:00

Minor Maintenance

Sat 23 May 8:00

Sun 24 May 20:00

MAJOR Maintenance

Sat 6 Jun 8:00

Fri 19 Jun 18:00

Change Freeze – Semester 1 Exams

Sat 20 Jun 8:00

Sat 20 Jun 20:00

Minor Maintenance

Sat 11 Jul 8:00

Fri 17 Jul 8:00

Change Freeze – Winter Exams

Mon 20 Jul 0:00

Tue 21 Jul 18:00

CHANGE BLACKOUT – Start of Semester 2

Tue 21 Jul 18:00

Fri 24 Jul 18:00

Change Freeze – Start of Semester 2

Sat 25 Jul 8:00

Sat 25 Jul 20:00

Minor Maintenance

Sat 1 Aug 8:00

Fri 21 Aug 18:00

Change Freeze – Trimester 2 & Singapore Tri 2 Exams

Sat 22 Aug 8:00

Sat 22 Aug 20:00

Minor Maintenance

Sat 19 Sep 8:00

Sun 20 Sep 20:00

MAJOR Maintenance

Sat 31 Oct 8:00

Sat 31 Oct 20:00

Minor Maintenance

Sat 31 Oct 20:00

Fri 13 Nov 18:00

Change Freeze – Semester 2 Exams

Sat 14 Nov 8:00

Fri 20 Nov 18:00

Change Freeze – Trimester 3 Exams

Sat 21 Nov 8:00

Sat 21 Nov 20:00

Minor Maintenance

Sat 5 Dec 8:00

Fri 18 Dec 18:00

Change Freeze – Singapore Trimester 3 Exams

Sat 19 Dec 8:00

Sat 19 Dec 20:00

Minor Maintenance

Maintenance explanation

A period of time allocated for system maintenance. During these windows ALL services may experience interruptions. Notification of affected systems will be done on the IT Service portal (serviceUON) & on the IT maintenance schedule website. Throughout the year we have two types of windows, the difference between the two is simply the duration of the window:

  • Minor is a 12-hour window.
  • Major is a 36-hour window.

A small window when there is little impact on the users:

  • Blackboard – externally hosted. Friday morning between 2am and 6am.
  • UON managed systems - Friday mornings between 5am & 7am. There may be short outages to systems during this window, these will be advertised on serviceUON & the website.

No changes to systems are to be scheduled during this period to minimise risk in these student focused periods (start of semesters 1&2). The only changes during this period will be in response to, or to prevent major incidents, or to address ‘critical’ security patches.

During a change freeze systems supporting UON critical & UON important processes will not be changed unless in response to, or to prevent a major incident, or to address ‘critical’ or ‘important’ security patches. The periods where change freezes apply are:

  • Supporting UON Critical Processes (as listed in Section 7 of the UON Business Continuity Management Framework)
    • Student Admissions
    • Student Enrolments
    • Student Fees
    • Student Teaching
    • Student Exams
    • Maintaining critical research
    • Pay Staff
    • Pay Creditors
    • Student Census dates
    • Research grant applications
    • Research grant revenue
  • Important Student Processes
    • Key Student Dates: Orientation Week, Start of semester 1 & semester 2
    • Graduations
    • Open Days
    • Student Accommodation Check In and Check Out weekend

Periods throughout the year where changes to nominated systems are avoided if possible. Generally changes will only be made during these periods at the request of the business and if the risk is low. Change awareness periods apply:

  • In the days leading up to the key student deadlines, listed in the Change Freeze section above
  • When key business support processes are scheduled:
    • finance end of month,
    • finance end of year,
    • Excellence in Research Australia (3 yearly review, next due in 2021)