Learning Design and Teaching Innovation

The Learning Design and Teaching Innovation unit supports the University of Newcastle's course enhancement initiatives, providing advice on the most appropriate pedagogical approaches for learning in different contexts, along with the production of high-quality learning resources to support blended and online learning.

The Learning Design and Teaching Innovation team are specialists in the application of transformative educational technologies, and are a source of knowledge for learning spaces and their capabilities.

Learning Design and Teaching Innovation staff work closely with academic colleagues to transform curriculum and can also provide tailored professional development opportunities.

Learning Design and Teaching Innovation

For more information visit the
Learning Design and Teaching Innovation website.

LDTI teams support Learning Design, Education Development, Learning Media and Learning Technology.

Facilities are also available to support do-it-yourself or direct to camera video production. Staff can also book a multi-camera production studio for the creation of videos for courses.

Virtual Learning Environment

Transition to Canvas - Sharepoint site

We are moving from Blackboard to Canvas in January 2022.

The Transition to Canvas Sharepoint site is now available for staff.
This site provides staff with information about the change of learning management system, from Blackboard to Canvas.

Follow the site for:

  • Project timelines, updates and information
  • Dates and times for training and workshops
  • Support options for staff

The Learning Technology Support team provides 'just in time' help and training to academics for the teaching and learning technologies available in our virtual learning environment.
Ph: 49217101 or uonline@newcastle.edu.au

Teaching Resources

For practical teaching ideas see our tip sheets and teaching resources.

Aligned with the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals

4 - Quality education

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.