Gladys M Brawn Fellowship


The Gladys M Brawn Fellowship Scheme was established by Leslie Harold Brawn and, at his request, the scheme began when he passed away in 1995. Mr Brawn wanted the then Faculty of Medicine to establish strong research leadership that would enable the University to expand medical research and provide a permanent memory of his late wife Gladys. Mr Brawn began donating his possessions and money to the University in 1985. At the time of his death his donations were worth $5 million.

The Gladys M Brawn Senior Research Fellowship

Launched in 1995, the key aim of the Brawn Fellowship was to attract outstanding career scientists with international reputations to Newcastle, and to retain them. It was the first fellowship scheme in Australia to actively recruit fellows and, partly due to this Fellowship scheme, the University of Newcastle's Faculty of Health and Medicine is now a national and international leader in health research. A generous support package is available.

Applications for Senior Brawn Fellowships are open all year round.

The 2018/2019 Brawn Annual Report is available for viewing.

Current Senior Brawn Fellows

NameFellowship PeriodResearch Area
Professor Amanda Baker2009 - PresentPsychological treatments of comorbidity with a focus on drug and alcohol problems
Professor Geoff Isbister2014 - PresentImproving Health Outcomes in Drug Overdose and Envenoming
Professor Clare Collins2016 - PresentNutrition and dietetics focusing on developing, delivering and evaluating nutrition interventions for prevention and treatment of weight related chronic conditions
Professor Frances Kay-Lambkin2016 - Present

Development and clinical trial of computer- and internet-delivered treatments for people with co-occurring mental health and alcohol/other drug use problems

Professor Murray Cairns2017 - PresentMechanisms for gene regulation in neurodevelopment and their role in complex neuropsychiatric disorders

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.