The University of Newcastle, Australia

Key dates

Summer Term 1, 2017/18

Summer Term 1 commences Monday 20 November 2017
Christmas closedown Monday 18 December 2017 to Tuesday 2 January 2018
Summer Term 1 resumes Wednesday 3 January 2018
Summer Term 1 concludes Friday 2 February 2018

Summer Term 1 examinations

Monday 5 February to Friday 9 February 2018

Summer Term 2, 2017/18

Summer Term 2 commences Monday 8 January 2018
Summer Term 2 concludes Friday 9 Febraury 2018
Summer Term 2 examinations Monday 12 February to Friday 16 February 2018

Summer Term 3, 2017/18

Summer Term 3 commences Monday 29 January 2018
Summer Term 3 concludes Friday 16 February 2018
Summer Term 3 examinations Monday 19 February to Friday 23 February 2018

Trimester 1, 2018

Trimester 1 2018 commences Monday 5 February 2018  
Last day to add courses for Trimester 1 2018 Friday 16 February 2018 Courses cannot be added after this date without Course Coordinator approval.
Census date Friday 2 March 2018 Last day to withdraw from Trimester 1 courses without incurring tuition fees.
Last day to lodge Commonwealth Assistance Forms (CAF).
Trimester 1 2018 concludes Friday 27 April 2018 Last day to withdraw without failure.
Trimester 1 2018 examinations Thursday 3 May to Friday 11 May 2018  

Semester 1, 2018

Semester 1 2018 commences Monday 26 February 2018  
Last day to add courses for Semester 1 2018 Friday 9 March 2018 Courses cannot be added after this date without Course Coordinator approval.
Census date Friday 23 March 2018 Last day to withdraw from Semester 1 courses without incurring tuition fees.
Last day to lodge Commonwealth Assistance Forms (CAF).
Semester 1 2018 concludes Friday 8 June 2018 Last day to withdraw without failure.
Semester 1 2018 examinations Tuesday 12 June to Friday 29 June 2018  

Trimester 2, 2018

Trimester 2 2018 commences Monday 21 May 2018  
Last day to add courses for Trimester 2 2018 Friday 1 June 2018 Courses cannot be added after this date without Course Coordinator approval.
Census date Friday 15 June 2018 Last day to withdraw from Trimester 2 courses without incurring tuition fees.
Last day to lodge Commonwealth Assistance Forms (CAF).
Trimester 2 2018 concludes Friday 10 August 2018 Last day to withdraw without failure.
Trimester 2 2018 examinations Thursday 16 August to Friday 24 August 2018  

Semester 2, 2018

Semester 2 2018 commences Monday 30 July 2018  
Last day to add courses for Semester 2 2018 Friday 10 August 2018 Courses cannot be added after this date without Course Coordinator approval.
Census date Friday 24 August 2018 Last day to withdraw from Semester 2 courses without incurring tuition fees.
Last day to lodge Commonwealth Assistance Forms (CAF).
Semester 2 2018 concludes Friday 9 November 2018 Last day to withdraw without failure.
Semester 2 2018 examinations Monday 12 November - Friday 30 November 2018  

Trimester 3, 2018

Trimester 3 2018 commences Monday 3 September 2018  
Last day to add courses for Trimester 3 2018 Friday 14 September 2018 Courses cannot be added after this date without Course Coordinator approval.
Census date Friday 28 September 2018 Last day to withdraw from Trimester 3 courses without incurring tuition fees.
Last day to lodge Commonwealth Assistance Forms (CAF).
Trimester 3 2018 concludes Friday 23 November 2018 Last day to withdraw without failure.
Trimester 3 2018 examinations Thursday 29 November to Friday 7 December 2018

Winter Term, 2018

Winter Term commences Monday 25 June 2018
Winter Term concludes Friday 20 July 2018
Winter Term examinations23/07/18 – 27/07/18