The University of Newcastle, Australia

Assurance of learning

Assurance of Learning is a continuous improvement process that has been prioritised by the Business School and will assist us to meet the requirements of the AACSB accreditation.

Each year, select programs undergo Assurance of Learning to assess how our students are performing against the key learning objectives for the programs offered in the School.

Students are assessed against each of the key learning objectives and receive a rating, based on a 5-point scale, ranging from Excellent to Poor.

This data provides valuable information that will help identify areas for development and inform future decisions about the programs, our teaching and learning support.

In 2018, programs at both undergraduate and postgraduate level underwent Assurance of Learning with the target that at least 80% of our students scored Satisfactory or higher in their overall performance for each of our Learning Objectives.

Undergraduate results – 2018

Table indicating the undergraduate results for 2018

Overall, the Undergraduate AOL results met the target of at least 80% of students scored Satisfactory or higher in their performance for each Learning Objectives.

This is the overall result for all locations and undergraduate programs that were assessed in 2018 – there were differences in the results for each location and program, where programs at certain locations did not meet the target for certain Learning Objectives.

Postgraduate results – 2018

Table indicating postgraduate results from 2018

Overall, for the Postgraduate programs assessed, both the Knowledge and Critical Thinking Learning Objectives were close to not meeting the target of at least 80% of students scored Satisfactory or higher, while Teamwork did not attain this target.

A detailed report for each of the programs assessed has been prepared and provided to the Program Convenors to review and comment of any areas of concerns. These reports, along with the comments provided by the Program Convenors, have been presented to the Faculty Teaching and Learning committee for discussion.