Head of Robotics Lab

Associate Professor Stephan Chalup

Associate Professor
School of Information and Physical Sciences

NUbots Student Team

NUbots student lab
T: +61 2 492 16163

Robotics Lab Members

  • Bilal Abedalguni, Multiagent Reinforcement Learning
  • Shashank Bhatia, Mater Hospital, Newcastle
  • Kenny Hong, Facial expression recognition, image analysis
  • Aarash Jalalian, Pedestrian detection, medical image analysis
  • Steven Nicklin, Localisation, fractal analysis techniques
  • Oliver Obst, 3D-simulation development, CSIRO, Sydney
  • Peter Walla, Neuroscience, University of Vienna
  • Lukasz Wiklendt, Department of Human Physiology, Flinders University
  • Aaron Wong, Functional Neuroscience Lab, UON
  • Ross Bille (Masters Student), Software Engineering in Smart Systems
  • Fayeem Bin Aziz (PhD Student), Development of a Brain Controlled Walking Assistant
  • Jake Fountain (Masters Student), Virtual Reality and Space Travel - Virtual Reality As A Solution To Living In Extreme Environments
  • Trent Houliston (Masters Student), Software Engineering
  • Maryam Mashal Kahn (PhD Student), Intelligent Controller Design (via NeuroEvolutionary Algorithm)
  • Rahul Paul (PhD Student), Topology and Measure of High-Dimensional Data
  • Josiah Walker (PhD student), Machine Learning and Big Data
  • Alexandre Mendes, Computer Science and Software Engineering, HoD and Marketing Coordinator, NUbots, CIBM
  • Jenny Taylor, Partnerships and International Officer (for marketing enquiries), Faculty of Engineering and Built Environment
  • Peter Turner, Electrical Engineering Lab Manager

Student Members

  • Alex Biddulph, Team Leader - PhD (Computer Engineering)
  • Matthew Amos - Computer Engineering/Computer Science 6th year
  • Daniel Ginn - PhD (Computer Science) 4th year
  • Shawn Hain - Mechanical/Mechatronics 3rd year
  • Cody Lewis - Computer Science 3rd year
  • Tim Mullen - Mecatronics 4th year
  • Josephus Paye II - Computer Science 3rd year
  • Ysobel Sims - Maths/Computer Science 3rd year
  • Anita Sugo - Bachelor of Mathematics (complete), Honours in Computer Science (current)
  • David Wieland - Bachelor of IT 3rd year
  • Taylor Young - Electrical Engineering 4th year

Academic Mentors and Supervisors

  • Stephan Chalup (Head of the robotics lab), Computer Science & Software Engineering
  • Robert King, Statistics
  • Alexandre Mendes, Computer Science and Software Engineering
  • Peter Turner, Electrical Engineering
  • Professor Rick Middleton, Head of School for Electrical Engineering and Computing
  • Trent Houliston (Computing and IT, 4Tel)

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.