The University of Newcastle, Australia

UON Nursing PhD student off to national 3MT finals

Tuesday, 5 August 2014

Nursing PhD student, Gary Crowfoot, has talked his way into the final round of the National/Trans-Tasman Three Minute Thesis (3MT) competition, overcoming stiff competition from 17 fellow UON postgraduate researchers.

2014 three minute thesis finalists
2014 UON Three Minute Thesis winner Gary Crowfoot (centre) with second place winner Lee Ashton and third place winner Akshaya Kamalnath.

With each candidate challenged to summarise their thesis for a non-specialist audience in just 180 seconds, Mr Crowfoot emerged victorious after sharing his research into the impact of healthcare pathways upon the outcomes and experiences of individuals who suffer from transient ischaemic attack (TIA), or mini-stroke.

Nutrition and dietetics student, Lee Ashton, also impressed the solid crowd and was awarded second place after sharing his investigation into the health and lifestyle issues faced by men aged 18 to 25. Law student, Akshaya Kamalnath, came in a close third after presenting her research about whether the presence of women on company boards could lead to less risky decision-making.

A panel, comprising Newcastle City Councillor Nuatali Nelmes, co-founder of Slingshot Trent Bagnall and CEO of HunterNet Tony Cade, was on hand to judge the event.

Mr Crowfoot will now represent UON in the 3MT national final, to be held at the University of Western Australia on 3 November 2014.

Click here to view the top three presentations (under the 'Watch our 2014 finalists' tab).

For more information about the UON 3MT please contact Laura Medioli on

  • Media and Public Relations
  • Phone: +61 2 4921 5577

Related news