Professor Penny Jane Burke joins new Australian Equity in Higher Education Panel

Tuesday, 28 July 2020

Last week Professor Penny Jane Burke (Centre of Excellence for Equity in Higher Education) attended the first meeting of the new Federal government Equity in Higher Education Panel (EHEP) as one of two invited research experts in the field.

Image of Penny

Professor Burke previously held a position on the government Research and Innovation in Equity Expert panel. The newly established  EHEP will provide high level strategic advice to the Minister for Education, with Professor Burke working alongside invited senior university leaders as well as key ex-officio members of the department and important national groups. The full membership can be viewed here.

The key focus of the EHEP is to develop a National Equity in Higher Education Roadmap, a five-year strategy to create a sector-wide vision for equity, raising its profile and embedding it more effectively in universities’ missions. Professor Burke’s selection to this panel is an encouraging indicator of CEEHE’s role in the sector and a recognition of the importance of critical praxis through bringing research, policy and practice together in dialogue.

In her role on the panel, Professor Burke will provide high-level advice to the department on the development of a five-year strategy and the strategic investment of equity funding. Professor Burke will bring extensive knowledge of the research in the field and her commitment to critical, participatory and praxis-based frameworks to these discussions.

This role commences at a time where we are seeing inequalities highlighted and exacerbated alongside increasing uncertainty for the higher education sector and its staff. While working within limitations of government structures, it is encouraging to have this group providing important links between research, institutional practice and policy-making.

Related news

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.