Stewed Lamb with Carrots

Stewed Lamb with Carrots

Stewed Lamb with Carrot

Serves: 6

Cooking Time: 1.5 hours


  • Lamb 1kg
  • Carrot 500g
  • Spring Onion 50g
  • Ginger 30g
  • Paprika 15g
  • Chinese five spice 15g
  • Garlic 15g
  • Salt 5g
  • Cooking wine 20ml
  • Soy sauce 20ml
  • Black pepper 5g

Cooking Method:

  1. Cut lamb into 2cm cubes, put them into saucepan, add cooking wine, ginger, spring onion and enough water to cover the lamb. Let boil, then transfer lamb to a plate, set aside. Dispose of remaining fluid.
  2. Heat some cooking oil in a pan, dice remaining ginger then add and stir briefly when the oil is hot, add lamb and stir fry with paprika, Chinese five spice and soy sauce for 3 minutes.
  3. Transfer ingredients to a deep pot, add water or your favorite stock to cover lamb, dice and add garlic and cover the pot. Stew with low heat for an hour. Cut carrots into cubes and add carrots and salt into the stew, cook with high heat for 15 minutes.
  4. Finally, the stewed carrot with lamb is done. Serve with a pinch of black pepper, and enjoy with rice, bread or naan

Jin Wang

Lamb in simplified Chinese is羊 (pinyin: yáng), the character羊is a pictograph based on the appearance of animals. Chinese ancestors created the original character for lamb which was the earliest record of writing found on oracle bones.

In China, it is a tradition to eat lamb in autumn as the weather gradually turns cooler. In Chinese culture, we believe eating lamb has the special effect of keeping our body warm. In fact, Lamb has less fat and cholesterol than pork or beef. Combined with carrots that are nutritious and rich in vitamins, this stew is delicious and healthy.

Believe it or not, I have never considered myself a good cook at home in China. But I got to learn how to make this yummy dish after I came to live in Newcastle. I am proud to share this recipe with you all!

Jin Wang – Confucius Institute Chinese Teacher

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.