Our Partners

Foundational Partners

We were established and are proudly supported by three foundational partners – the University of Newcastle (Australia), Central China Normal University (Wuhan) and CI HQ (Beijing).

The University of Newcastle has a strong record for connecting with partners and communities across the world. Committed to building a world class institution with global reach that makes a difference to our region, it has established and continue to establish strong connection with China through education, research and collaboration.

Central China Normal University (CCNU) is one of China's top universities with strengths in Education and Arts. Located in Wuhan, the largest city in central China, it has over 40,000 undergraduate and postgraduate students and a campus of more than 600,000 square meters.

CI HQ or the Office of Chinese Language Council International was established by the Chinese Government to promote mutual understanding and friendships between the Chinese people and other peoples of the world. It overseas over 400 Confucius Institutes worldwide. More than one third of the world's top 200 universities have become home to Confucius Institutes.

Collaborative Partners

We have a highly valued network of outstanding organisations with whom we work together to further our common goals and aspirations.

Confucius Institute at the University Adelaide

Confucius Institute at Charles Darwin University

Confucius Institute at Griffith University

Confucius Institute at LaTrobe University

Confucius Institute at the University of Melbourne

Confucius Institute at the University of New South Wales

Confucius Institute at the NSW Department of Education

Confucius Institute at the University of Queensland

Confucius Institute at the Queensland University of Technology

Confucius Institute at the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology

Confucius Institute at the University of Sydney

Confucius Institute at the University of Western Australia

Australia China Business Council

Australia China Youth Association

Engaging China Project

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.