Staff elections

Elections for staff positions on University Council, Academic Senate and College Boards are conducted by Governance and Assurance Services with the University Secretary being the Returning Officer.

Other bodies throughout the University conduct their own elections for positions on their Boards and Committees.

This webpage only deals with the elections undertaken by Governance and Assurance Services.

The University has a range of opportunities for staff to become involved in Committees that contribute to the teaching, learning and the business of the University. Committee members get to meet an influential network of people, learn new skills, develop their professional skills and effect change at the University.

Do you have questions relating to elections?  Read the Frequently Asked Questions fact sheet and the Election Information and Resources page.

2021 Staff Elections

Election for Academic Staff members on Academic Senate

27 Jul
Voting opens
10 Aug
Voting closes

Click here for the Notice of Ballots

Election for Academic Staff members on College Boards

12 Aug
Nominations open
27 Aug
Nominations close

Election for College Board Representatives on Academic Senate

29 Sep
Nominations open
13 Oct
Nominations close

Recent Election Results

There are no recent election results.


Contact the Deputy Returning Officer for all elections questions on

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.