Becoming a Member

The Priority Research Centre for Health Behaviour Research welcomes new members.

1. Membership

An individual is able to become a member of the PRC through an application to the PRC Executive demonstrating that they meet the following criteria:

  • demonstrated interest in health behaviour research through research activity and/or practice
  • willingness to comply with the principles and policies governing the conduct of research at the University of Newcastle
  • willingness to have their research outputs attributed to the PRC

2. Capacity to apply for/receive PRC funding/access to resources

The PRC has clearly stated objectives relating to the enhancement of health behaviour research outputs. The PRC has agreed on merit-based mechanisms for the disbursement of its funds in a manner that is directed at the achievement of these objectives.

The ability of a PRC member to receive PRC funds, or to access PRC resources is determined by:

  • the research being aligned with the PRC objectives of enhancing peer reviewed publications, PhD completions, establishment of research fellowships, and/or successful competitive grants in the field of health behaviour research
  • the research being worthy of support according to agreed PRC assessment procedures

Health behaviour research is defined for the purposes of the PRC as research undertaken to produce knowledge regarding:

  • the behavioural, psychological, social and environmental factors that influence how people stay healthy, why they become ill, and how they respond when they are ill
  • the development of reliable and valid measures of those factors and of health-related outcomes
  • the design, development and evaluation of interventions, at both individual and systems levels, to  modify such factors and/or improve wellbeing and quality of life

The ability of a person to receive PRC funds, or to access PRC resources is not defined or constrained by the organisational unit, professional discipline or field of research to which they belong.

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.