Research and Supervision Excellence

Monday, 2 December 2013

The winners of the 2013 'Vice-Chancellor's Awards for Research Excellence' and the 'Vice-Chancellor's Awards for Supervision Excellence' were announced on Monday 2 December. These awards recognise and reward the outstanding calibre of researchers and supervisors we have at the University.

VC award winners


These Awards recognise research excellence in outstanding early career and mid-career researchers.

The Vice-Chancellor's Award for Researcher of the Year was presented to Dr Patricia Pender.

The Awards are based on the excellence of the nominee's best research output (usually a research publication) in the previous calendar year. For the current round, this means the best research publication published in 2012.

Faculty Awards

Faculty of Business and LawDr Paul Docherty
Faculty of Education and ArtsDr Patricia Pender
Faculty of Engineering and Built EnvironmentDr Lawrence Ong
Faculty of Health and MedicineAssociate Professor Geoff Isbister
Faculty of Science and Information TechnologyDr Ben Dascombe
Regional campusDr Christopher Scarlett


These awards recognise the important role that supervisors play in our research achievements and in supporting our talented research higher degree candidates. Each Faculty recognises their most outstanding supervisor with a Faculty Award.

The Vice-Chancellor's Award for Supervision Excellence was presented to Associate Professor Michael Arthur-Kelly.

Faculty Awards

Faculty of Business and LawAssociate Professor Kevin Lyons and Dr Tamara Young
Faculty of Education and ArtsAssociate Professor Michael Arthur-Kelly
Faculty of Engineering and Built EnvironmentProfessor Zhiyong Chen
Faculty of Health and MedicineDr Neil Spratt
Faculty of Science and Information TechnologyDr Phillip McIntyre

Congratulations to our 2013 award winners.

Related news

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.