Quit smoking study recruiting participants in regional and remote areas

Tuesday, 23 May 2017

A new quit smoking study is now recruiting participants from regional and remote areas of New South Wales.

Join a study conducted by researchers at the University of Newcastle and Hunter New England Population Health that offers smokers either:

  • video support sessions (e.g. via Skype, FaceTime);
  • telephone support calls; or
  • written materials to help them quit smoking.

Study participants will also be asked to complete a brief online survey about smoking habits initially and then 4-months, 7-months and 13-months later.

We are looking for people who:

  • smoke cigarettes or use tobacco every day
  • are aged 18 years or older
  • have access to a telephone, and to a mode of video-communication (e.g. Skype, FaceTime)
  • have access to the internet and a current e-mail address
  • live in a regional or remote area of New South Wales, Australia.

For more information and to Go to the Survey click on: www.newcastle.edu.au/research/quit

Contact person: Dr Flora Tzelepis

Telephone: (02) 4924 6275

E-mail: Flora.Tzelepis@newcastle.edu.au

Research team: Dr Flora Tzelepis, Ms Judith Byaruhanga, Miss Emma Byrnes, Prof John Wiggers, A/Prof Christine Paul, Prof Jennifer Bowman, Dr Elizabeth Campbell, Ms Karen Gillham

Complaints about this research

This project has been approved by the University of Newcastle Human Research Ethics Committee (Approval No. H-2016-0148).

Should you have concerns about your rights as a participant in this research, or you have a complaint about the manner in which the research is conducted, it may be given to the researcher, or, if an independent person is preferred, to the Human Research Ethics Officer, Research Office, The Chancellery, The University of Newcastle, University Drive, Callaghan NSW 2308, Australia, telephone (02) 49216333, email Human-Ethics@newcastle.edu.au

  • Dr Flora Tzelepis
  • Phone: (02) 4924 6275

Related news

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.