The University of Newcastle, Australia

UON awarded for exceptional teaching

Tuesday, 16 December 2014

The University of Newcastle has received two Australian Awards for University Teaching, recognising quality teaching practice and outstanding contributions to student learning.

Teaching Awards celebrate a group of the nation's most outstanding university teachers in their fields. Teaching Awards give recognition to teachers (individuals and teams) renowned for the excellence of their teaching and have made a significant contribution to enhancing the quality of learning and teaching in higher education.

Dr Johanna Macneil, from the Faculty of Business and Law, Newcastle Business School, has been recognised for her outstanding contribution with an Award for Teaching Excellence.

Dr Macneil's student satisfaction has been consistently high during her seven years at UON.

Pioneering the use of problem-based learning (PBL) in Human Resources Management and Employment Relations, Dr Macneil has developed curriculum, resources and 'real-world' assessments to facilitate excellent student outcomes.

The Interprofessional Learning (IPL) Modules: Learning Together to Work Together program led by Associate Professor Tony Smith, Faculty of Health and Medicine, also received a prestigious award.

The University of Newcastle developed an innovative and sustainable approach to promote the importance of patient-focused, collaborative practice for health students.

The expertise for development, delivery and evaluation of the modules is drawn from rural-based academics and clinicians from medicine, nursing and allied health.

The team members involved in the Learning Together to Work Together program are:

Dr Leanne Brown, Ms Elesa Crowley, Ms Rebecca Dutton, Ms Hazel Harries-Jones, Ms Natasha Hawkins, Ms Alexandra Little, Ms Rebecca Marley, Dr Jenny May, Dr Alan Pederson, Ms Kelly Thurlow, Mr Luke Wakely and Ms Rebecca Wolfgang.

The University of Newcastle is proud of our staff who have been recognised for being outstanding teachers in their fields.

  • Media and PR
  • Phone: 02 4921 5577

Related news