Scholars shortlisted for awards

Monday, 19 August 2013

University of Newcastle scholars shortlisted for awards

Book CoverHistorical works by University of Newcastle scholars Dr Julie McIntyre, Dr Euridice Charon Cardona and Associate Professor Roger Markwick have been shortlisted for the 2013 NSW Premier's History Awards.

Julie McIntyre's book, First Vintage: Wine in Colonial New South Wales (UNSW Press), reveals the forgotten, and at times fraught, story of wine growing in early Australia. It investigates what Indigenous Australians may have thought of imported European wine, who made the first colonial wine, who was drinking it and what it tasted like.

Roger Markwick and Euridice Charon Cardona's book, Soviet Women on the Frontline in the Second World War (Palgrave Macmillan, UK), is the first comprehensive study in English of the more than one million women - aviators, anti-aircraft gunners, nurses, snipers - who served in the Red Army or fought with the partisans on the Eastern Front in the Second World War, resisting the genocidal Nazi invasion of the Soviet Union. Drawing on a vast array of original sources, this book explains why and how Soviet women came to fight en masse and captures the confronting, everyday experiences voiced by Soviet women fighting, living and dying on the anti-fascist frontline.

"The short-listing of two books by our history scholars for these prestigious and highly competitive awards shows the quality, impact and depth of historical research being produced at the University of Newcastle," said Professor John Germov, Pro Vice-Chancellor of the University's Faculty of Education and Arts.

The prestigious NSW Premier's History Awards were first presented in 1997 to recognise high standards in historical research and encourage people to appreciate the work of historians. The 2013 winners will be announced at a presentation ceremony on 12 September 2013 at the State Library of NSW.

  • Carmen Swadling
  • Phone: +612 4985 4276

Related news

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.