Laureate professor honoured for lifetime achievement

Monday, 10 October 2016

University of Newcastle Laureate Professor Graeme Jameson AO has been honoured as the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award at the International Mineral Processing Congress (IMPC), held in Quebec City, Canada.

Laureate Professor Graeme Jameson
Laureate Professor Graeme Jameson

The IMPC Lifetime Achievement Award recognises a lifetime of distinguished achievement and outstanding contribution to the advancement of the art, science and industrial practice of mineral processing, together with participation in, and contribution to, the IMPC.

The Award was presented before an audience of 1500 academic and industry specialists, at the XXVIII meeting of the Congress.

“It’s an honour to receive this award, nominated by my peers, to join the distinguished company of international recipients,” Professor Jameson said.

Laureate Professor Jameson is renowned for his invention of the Jameson Cell, a revolutionary mineral processing technology installed around the world. Well over 300 Jameson Cells are now in operation across 25 countries, with the invention estimated to have earned nearly $100 billion for the Australian economy.

While the technology is most famous for its widespread use in the coal industry, it is also used to recover metals such as copper and gold, to remove suspended solids from dairy in ice cream factories, at breweries, chicken factories and wineries, as well as to treat industrial effluents and remove hydraulic oil from cooling water streams.

Laureate Professor Jameson’s past accomplishments are extensive. In 2014, he was admitted to the International Mining Technology Hall of Fame and was awarded the NSW Scientist of the Year at the 2013 NSW Science and Engineering Awards.

In 2015, he was awarded the Prime Minister’s Science Prize for Innovation and elected to the US National Academy of Engineering (NAE),one of the highest professional distinctions offered to an engineer.

Related news

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.