The University's Inaugural Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee has been announced!

Tuesday, 12 October 2021

The University of Newcastle is excited to announce the formation of its inaugural University Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee.

Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee

The Committee includes representation from both students and staff, and will play a leading role in guiding us to create cultural change across the University, as well as achieve our ambition of becoming a pioneering institution in supporting EDI.

After a huge number of applications to join the Committee, the selection panel had a very difficult task ensuring that the Committee itself reflected suitable diversity representative of our University’s aspirations, from so many strong candidates.

The following people will join the inaugural Committee for an initial two year term (with some rotating after one year):​​​​​​​

Student Representatives:
Emma Gibbon
Andrew Piper
Jennifer Lowe

Staff Representatives:
Cassia Lindsay
Jamie MacKee
Marcus Rodrigs
Sue-Anne Ware

College PVC Representative:
Zee Upton

Joining ex officio members:
Jennifer Milam (PVC Academic Excellence and Acting Chair)
Jess Philbrook (UNSA student Vice-President Welfare and Wellbeing)
Rachel Fowell (Manager Equity, Diversity & Inclusion)
Mark Hoffman (DVC Academic)

The Committee will meet soon, with one of its first tasks to create a number of sub-committees, whose Chairs will also attend EDI Committee meetings.

Finally, a big thank you to the selection panel, especially alumnus and Deputy Mayor of the City of Newcastle, Declan Clausen, who joined the Committee’s ex officio members.

Related news

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.