The University of Newcastle, Australia

Student elections

Students can nominate to be elected to the University Council, Academic Senate, Faculty Boards and the University of Newcastle Students’ Association (UNSA).

Should you be elected, you will need to attend meetings, read all relevant information and be prepared to share your perspective as a student.

Student representatives serve for a period of one year from 1 January to 31 December.

You can nominate for a range of positions – in fact, you are encouraged to nominate for all positions you are interested in. You will receive an email to your student account at the beginning of the nomination period outlining the nomination process.

UNSA 2021 SRC Elections

The University of Newcastle Students’ Association (UNSA) is the organisation that supports and represents students at the University of Newcastle. UNSA is a not-for-profit organisation with the purpose is to positively impact student experience in matters related to educational experiences, welfare and wellbeing by providing a range of activities, extra-curricular events, and out-of-class engagement opportunities. Find out more about UNSA.

Student elections for positions on the UNSA Student Representative Council (SRC) are conducted by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) as Returning Officer.

Representatives on the UNSA SRC serve a one year Term of Office, from 1 January to 31 December.

Call For Nominations

Nominations are open from Wednesday, 2 September to 5pm on Wednesday, 16 September 2020 for the following positions on the UNSA 2021 SRC:

2020 by-election

Nominations are called to fill a casual vacancy on the 2020 UNSA SRC for the role of Vice-President (Experience & Engagement). Nominations are open from Wednesday, 2 September to 5pm on Wednesday, 16 September 2020. Download the nomination form for this role.

How to Nominate

All students eligible to nominate for open positions are sent an email to their student email account at the beginning of each nomination period outlining the nomination process. You will need to fill in a nomination form and send it to the Deputy Returning Officer.

Step 1. Read the Position description for the role.

It is a condition of your nomination that before you submit the nomination you must read the Position Description for that role to fully understand the commitment and responsibilities of the role.

Step 2. Download the Nomination Form (all 2021 roles).

* Download the nomination form for the Vice-President (Experience & Engagement) 2020 by-election here.

Step 3. Complete your Candidate Statement.

A Candidate Statement forms part of a complete Nomination. Please refer to the Candidate Statement Guidelines for details.

Step 4. Submit your completed Nomination Form and Candidate Statement by 5.00pm on Wednesday, 16 September 2020 via:

Email: The Returning Officer;



The Returning Officer

c/- Council and Records Management, Room CH239

The Chancellery, University of Newcastle, Callaghan, NSW, 2308

Further Information

You’ll find answers to most questions in the Student Elections – Frequently Asked Questions.

You can find out more information about UNSA, their Constitution and the SRC Terms of Reference on their site.

You can also contact the Deputy Returning Officer for more information on