Executive leadership

Members of the Executive Committee

Providing advice to the Vice-Chancellor on matters of strategic and operational significance, the primary role of the  Executive Committee is to define and focus the strategic direction of the University in line with the Strategic Plan, and prioritise operational decisions according to this framework.

Professor Alex Zelinsky AO

Vice-Chancellor and President (Chair)

» Find out more

Professor Mark Hoffman

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) and Vice-President

» Find out more

Professor Tony Travaglione

Interim Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Global Engagement and Partnerships)

» Find out more

Professor Janet Nelson

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation) and Vice-President

» Find out more

Mr David Toll

Interim Chief Operating Officer

» Find out more

Ms Paula Johnston

Chief Financial Officer

» Find out more

Professor Lee Smith

Pro Vice-Chancellor, College of Engineering, Science and Environment

» Find out more

Professor Elizabeth Sullivan

Acting Pro Vice-Chancellor, College of Health, Medicine and Wellbeing

» Find out more

Professor John Fischetti

Pro Vice-Chancellor, College of Human and Social Futures

» Find out more

Mr Nathan Towney

Pro Vice-Chancellor, Indigenous Strategy and Leadership

» Find out more

Mr Martin Sainsbury

Chief People and Culture Officer

» Find out more

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.