The University of Newcastle, Australia

Beryl Nashar Young Researcher Award

The Beryl Nashar Young Researcher Award recognises the emerging research accomplishments of early- and mid-career alumni researchers.

Past recipients achievements include impactful research across health, medicine, sport science and the environment.

Beryl Nashar, Australian pioneer for women in STEMM

Professor Beryl Nashar was a pioneer of women in STEMM. Born in Maryville in 1923, the eldest of four children, Beryl was an outstanding school student. She completed her Leaving Certificate at Newcastle Girls High School, topping the state in biology, and went on to become the first in her family to go to university. She completed an honours science degree at the University of Sydney, winning the university medal and receiving a research scholarship.

After one day in a teaching role at Hunter Girls High School, Beryl was offered a position at the University of Tasmania - which she accepted.

She went on to achieve more firsts, including being the first Australian woman to be awarded a Rotary Foundation Fellowship, being the first Australian to be awarded a PhD in geology from an Australian university and then, becoming the first dean of science at an Australian University - here at the University of Newcastle.

Beryl published four books and 30 research papers. She was on the board of directors for the Royal Newcastle Hospital for 16 years, as well as the Faculty of Medicine and the Greater Newcastle Building. She was actively involved with the Federation of Business and Professional Women, holding the role of international president in 1974.

2019 Alumni Achievers

2019 Achiever - Dr Serene Yoong

Dr Serene Yoong

ARC DECRA Fellow, University of Newcastle
PhD Behavioural Science 2014; B Nutrition & Dietetics 2009

Dr Serene Yoong is an award winning scientist who has developed an outstanding research track record and established a national and international reputation as an expert implementation scientist in the field of non-communicable disease prevention.

» Find out more

2019 Achievers - Dr Georgina Ramsay

Dr Georgina Ramsay

Assistant Professor, University of Delaware
PhD Sociology & Anthropology 2016; B Science Hons 2011

Dr Georgina Ramsay’s work and research has had significant global impact and has emerged as a leading critical voice regarding current issues of displacement, humanitarianism, and the global refugee regime.

» Find out more

2019 Achievers - Dr Emma Beckett

Dr Emma Beckett

Nutritionist Researcher, University of Newcastle
PhD Food Science 2016; M Science Mgt 2011; Grad Dip Clinical Epidemiology 2010; B Biomedical Science Hons 2007

Dr Emma Beckett is a National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Early Career Fellow at The University of Newcastle. Her research area is in the field of molecular nutrition focusing on gene-nutrient-environment interactions

» Find out more