See a list of people in the Centre for the History of Violence at the University of Newcastle, Australia

Centre for the History of Violence

People

 Professor Philip Dwyer

Professor Philip Dwyer (Centre Director)

Dwyer is one of the leading international scholars in the French Revolutionary and Napoleonic eras, as well the world's pre-eminent biographer of Napoleon. His work on violence emanating from this research includes the experience of war, the massacre in history, and memory and has made a significant contribution to the field.

 Professor Roger Markwick

Professor Roger Markwick

Markwick is Professor of Modern European History, with particular expertise in Soviet and Russian history and historiography. His most recent research focuses on Soviet women in the Second World War. He has additional research interests in European fascism, genocide, and colonial settler states.

Professor Lyndall Ryan

Professor Lyndall Ryan

With a focus on massacre studies and in particular to the development of a coherent method to interrogate the disparate sources of frontier massacre, Ryan's work has resulted in significant conceptual advances in the study of the Australian frontier and the history of massacre.

Associate Professor Hans-Lukas Kieser

Associate Professor Hans-Lukas Kieser

An Australian Research Council (ARC) Future Fellow, Kieser's focus is war and revolution in the declining Ottoman Empire; the relationship between state formation, political violence, and genocide; apocalyptic violence (secular and religious) and the challenges of non-violence as they emerge in 'modern millennialism'.

Matthew Lewis

Dr Matthew Lewis 

A Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Lewis' work on paramilitary violence in Ireland and Palestine between the world wars offers a new perspective on the causes and dynamics of political violence.

Dr Kit Messham-Muir

Dr Kit Messham-Muir

Messham-Muir is an art theorist and museologist who researches the psychological and emotional dimensions of visualising war; imagery in warfare and terror.

Doctor Shigeru Sato

Dr Shigeru Sato

Sato's research focuses on civilians and war in Asia under the Japanese occupation during the Second World War. Japanese expansionism and its social and economic impact on other Asian countries, particularly Indonesia and Vietnam; Forced prostitution for the Japanese armed forces during WWII.

Dr Kate Ariotti 

Ariotti's research is in the experiences of and impact on Australians of wartime imprisonment during the First World War, especially POWs; the social and cultural impact of war; memory and commemoration.

Dr Kit Candlin

Formerly an ARC Postdoctoral Fellow, Candlin specialises in violence in the Atlantic world, slave colonies of the Atlantic, and slave rebellion.

Jennifer Debenham

Dr Jennifer Debenham

Research Associate 
Phone: +61 2 4349 4459
Send Mail

Bryce Abraham

Mr Bryce Abraham

PhD Scholar
Valour Down Under: A Study in Commonwealth "Heroism" from the Boer War to Afghanistan

Jane Fitzgerald

Ms Jane Fitzgerald

PhD Scholar
"Wild Humours" of the Common People: Emotions During the Wars of the Three Kingdoms, 1639-1653.

Thomas Schmutz

Mr Thomas Schmutz

PhD Scholar
Violence, Intervention and Reform: Armenians, Jews and Asians Christians in Western Diplomacy, 1895-1917

Adjunct Members

Professor Robert Cribb

Professor, School of Culture, History & Language
ANU College of Asia and the Pacific
E: robert.cribb@anu.edu.au

Professor Joy Damousi

Professor of History
The University of Melbourne
E: j.damousi@unimelb.edu.au

Professor Robin Gerster

Professor, School of English, Communications and Performance Studies
Monash University
E: robin.gerster@monash.edu

Professor Amanda Nettelbeck

Professor of English
The University of Adelaide
E: amanda.nettelbeck@adelaide.edu.au

Associate Professor Vesna Drapac

Associate Professor, School of History and Politics
The University of Adelaide
E: vesna.drapac@adelaide.edu.au

Associate Professor Penny Edmonds

Future Fellow in History
University of Tasmania
E: Penny.Edmonds@utas.edu.au

Associate Professor Kevin Foster

Head, Communications and Media Studies, School of English, Communications and Performance Studies
Monash University
E: Kevin.Foster@monash.edu

Associate Professor Robert Foster

Associate Professor, School of History and Politics
University of Adelaide
E: robert.foster@adelaide.edu.au

Associate Professor Anna Johnston

Associate Professor in English
University of Tasmania
E: Anna.Johnston@utas.edu.au

Associate Professor Michael Ondaatje

Associate Professor of History
Australian Catholic University
E: Michael.Ondaatje@acu.edu.au 

Dr Elizabeth Roberts

Lecture in History
School of Humanities and Communication Arts
The University of Western Sydney
E: E.Roberts-Pedersen@uws.edu.au

Dr Mitchell Rolls

Senior Lecturer and Co-director (Academic)
Riawunna, Centre for Aboriginal Studies, University of Tasmania
E: Mitchell.Rolls@utas.edu.au

Dr Kim A. Wagner

Senior Lecturer in British Imperial History
Senior Lecturer in British Imperial History, Queen Mary, University of London
E: k.wagner@qmul.ac

Hollie Pich

Postgraduate in History

University of Sydney
E: hollie.pich.232@gmail.com

Lance R. Blyth, Ph.D.

Research Associate 
Latin American and Iberian Institute
University of New Mexico

Dr Lisa Featherstone

Senior Lecturer in History
School of Historical and Philosophical Inquiry
University of Queensland