Refer to selection details for application information


Number available


Scholarship details


This award was established in 1999 to support academically excellent Year 12 students who intend to enrol at the University of Newcastle in the year following their Higher School Certificate (HSC) studies.

The award does not require an application as it is based on the nomination submitted by your High School during your HSC year.


To be eligible to apply for this scholarship you must meet the following criteria:

  • Have been nominated by a High School qualifying for the Regional and Rural Preference Scheme during your HSC year.
  • Be enrolled in any year of any undergraduate degree at the University of Newcastle.

Required Documentation

If documentation is not provided your application will not be processed. Please have all required documents available for upload as PDF, DOC, DOCX, JPEG, or JPG files prior to completing the online application process.

  • None Required.


The scholarship provides a benefit of a total of $2000 to be paid in a lump sum payment after semester one census date, in April.


Applications are not submitted for this award. Selection of the recipients is on the basis of academic merit, as advised by participating secondary schools and colleges.

The advertised number of scholarships available is indicative only and the university aims to support all students who go on to enrol, subject to approved funding arrangements.

If required, offers may be limited to participating schools and colleges within the following postcodes:

  • Central Coast 2250-2263
  • Mid-North Coast 2431-2459
  • Hunter Region 2264-2338 and 2413-2430
  • New England 2339-2412
  • Central West 2787-2820 and 2845-2877
  • Western Plains 2821-2844 and 2878
  • Northern Rivers 2460-2483
  • Broken Hill 2879-2880


    Contact Details

    Student Services Centre
    University of Newcastle
    University Drive

    Phone: +61 2 4921 5000
    Fax: +61 2 4921 5759

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.