Smoking on campus

UON is dedicated to providing a safe and healthy environment for staff, students and visitors to our campuses. We are proud to support a smoke-free experience.

Smoking pods

Smoking at UON is strictly limited to designated smoking pods at Callaghan and Ourimbah campuses.

Taking into account the health and safety of all, smoking pods are located away from building entrances and high pedestrian zones. For the safety of all, staff, students and visitors who need to smoke while on these campuses must make use of the pods.

Your questions answered

Where is smoking permitted?

From September 2018, designated smoking areas have been introduced at three locations on our Ourimbah campus and at eight locations across the Callaghan campus, included three in the student residence precinct.

How were the locations chosen?

The locations were identified to take into account the health and safety of all. Smoking pods are located away from building entrances and high pedestrian zones. They are within proximity of key campus hubs to provide a safe area for smokers, particularly at night.

Are penalties applied to students or staff for smoking at other locations on campus?

The University hopes it is not necessary to impose penalties. We are taking an educative approach but normal conduct processes can be activated for anyone who repeatedly fails to comply.

What support is offered to smokers who want to quit?

There are a range of services available for smokers who want to quit. The NSW Cancer Institutes I Can Quit webpage provides a range of services. The University has a Campus Medical Centre which can provide advice. Staff can use the employee assistance program services and students can talk to the Student Counselling team about quit options.

What if I don’t want to quit smoking?

That’s your choice. All we ask is that you cooperate with the University’s smoking restrictions.  Contact the Quitline to discuss what options are available to help manage nicotine cravings while on campus.

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.