The University of Newcastle, Australia

Queen's birthday honours 2016

Wednesday, 15 June 2016

University of Newcastle researchers, academics and alumni have been recognised in the 2016 Queen’s Birthday Honours List.

Professor Brian Anderson received the high honour of Companion in the Order of Australia (AC) for eminent service to information and communications technology, to engineering and to higher education, as an academic, researcher and author, to professional scientific associations, and as a mentor of young scientists.

Emeritus Professor Francis Bates, has become a Member of the Order of Australia for his remarkable service to the law and to tertiary education, to professional legal associations and to the community.

Professor Michael Fellows’ AC was national recognition for his service to the field of theoretical computer science. Professor Fellows was Professor of Computer Science at the University of Newcastle from 2001 to 2010.

Newcastle gastroenterologist and Conjoint Associate Professor at UON, Dr Aiden Foy was named a Member of the Order of Australia (AM). Dr Foy received this honour for his significant service to medicine, education and the community.

Mr John Hakes (APM) received the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM), for service to the community through social welfare organisations.

Dr Jenny May, Clinical Dean at the University of Newcastle Department of Rural Health in Tamworth, has been awarded an AM for her record of service to community health in rural and regional areas as a general practitioner, to professional medical groups and to education.

Dr Donna Odegaard received the AM for significant service to Indigenous cultural heritage through roles with broadcast media organisations, to education and training, and to reconciliation. Dr Odegaard was the 2012 UON Indigenous Alumni Award Recipient.

Ms Kathryn Pitkin received her AM for significant service to tertiary education and training, particularly for those in rural and regional Australia, and to the community.

Mr John Planner received the AM for significant service to engineering in the area of bulk solids handling, and to the environment through research into dust emission from coal terminals and rail transport.

Mr Trevor St Baker received an AO for distinguished service to business and commerce as a leader and executive in the energy sector, and through philanthropic support for a range of heath, arts and Indigenous youth programs.

Professor Kim Usher received the AM for significant service to nursing and midwifery education and research, nationally and in the Pacific, and to professional organisations.

Dr Gary Quinlan AO for distinguished service to public administration in the field of international relations as a senior diplomat and ambassador, and as an advisor to government on foreign policy.

Related news