Renewing and returning loans

Please be advised that some Library services and access to resources have been modified in response to the current COVID-19 situation. Visit the Library's updates and support page for all current information.

All staff and students are currently able to borrow up to 100 physical items from University of Newcastle Library locations.
Borrowed University of Newcastle items will have automatic loan extensions. Log into MyLibrary to check borrowed item status in the Library Catalogue.

Returning your Loans

Loans can be returned to any University of Newcastle Library. A courier service operates daily to return items to their home library.

Items borrowed from HNE Health libraries must be returned to HNE Health libraries

After Hours return chutes are located near the entrances to the Auchmuty Library, the Newcastle City campus Library and the Central Coast Campus Library.

Off campus students

Return items by mail in padded envelopes to the Auchmuty Library. Allow enough time for return by the date due as fines will apply on overdue items. Students are responsible for the cost of return postage.

Contact Address

Client Experience Services
Auchmuty Library
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308

Renewing your loans

Loans may be renewed during opening hours at any Library Service Zone, or you can renew them online.

Renewing loans online

  • View your record in MyLibrary
  • Type in your Student/Staff/Library card number and PIN, click on your name (in blue) in the top right hand corner
  • Select the items you wish to renew and click on the 'Renew Selected Items', or 'Renew All' button
  • Scroll down the page to check that items have been renewed
  • It is your responsibility to ensure the items have been renewed successfully

The following items cannot be renewed:

  • Items recalled or reserved for another patron
  • Items that have already been renewed the maximum number of times
  • Course Readings

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.