DOI minting service

What is a DOI?

A digital object identifier (DOI) is a persistent and permanent location identifier for a specific output such as a dataset. The DOI is made up of a string of numbers, letters and symbols which identify the output and provide a permanent link to its location on the web.

DOI minting service

The Library provides a DOI minting service for the University of Newcastle staff and students, for:

  • research datasets and collections, associated workflows, software and models
  • theses, reports, unpublished conference papers, newsletters, creative works, technical standards and specifications for which the institutional repository is the primary publication point.

There is no charge for this service. This service is not available for peer reviewed journal articles, ephemera, book chapters, or teaching and learning material.


As the service is intended to identify outputs, as outlined above, which are being made freely available to the national and international research community, the assignment of DOIs requires that the output is:

  • accessible via open or mediated access
  • part of the scholarly record
  • persistent in availability
  • described using the metadata requirements of the DOI Service (URL, title, creators, publisher, publication year, resource type)
  • citable with the appropriate ethics clearance and licensing

DOIs minted by the University of Newcastle require that a minimum of one author/creator/aggregator is affiliated with the University.  Research data is required to be archived and managed on the University of Newcastle infrastructure where the University of Newcastle is the owner and/or custodian of the data and grey literature is required to be deposited with the University’s NOVA open access repository.

How do I request a DOI?

Email the University of Newcastle Library at to request a DOI or for further information. Alternatively contact a Liaison Librarian to discuss further.

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.