Awards and prizes

The University of Newcastle is home to some of the world’s most well-regarded researchers and educators.

Our researchers have won high-profile awards for their work in engineering, cancer prevention, nutrition education, asthma prevention, education initiatives, humanities, and much more.

The Academic Excellence Sharepoint site contains links to award opportunities (external and Internal).

Upcoming research awards

To express your interest in applying for any of the opportunities list below, please contact Academic Excellence for nomination details.

The Royal Society of NSW​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Each year, the Society makes a number of awards, mainly in the field of science.  They are among the oldest and most prestigious awards in Australia.  Full details for each award, including the procedure for nomination is available here.   A nominator does not need to be a member or fellow of the Society.

14 Award categories/medals are available in:  science, human welfare, chemistry, plant biology, physics, pure and applied science, and early career research.

Applications close on 30th September 2021

Engagement Australia Awards 2021

This is the second year of the Engagement Australia Excellence Awards, (formerly the Business-Higher Education Round Table (BHERT) Awards). The 2020 Award winners can be viewed here.

Application Guidelines can be found here.

  1. Excellence in Community Engagement
  2. Excellence in Indigenous Engagement
  3. AExcellence in Industry Engagement
  4. AOutstanding Engagement for Research Impact
  5. Excellence in Student Engagement
  6. Excellence in Alumni Engagement
  7. Outstanding Leadership in Engagement

Applications close on 4 August 2021

GSK Award for Research Excellence

The award celebrates and supports outstanding Australian researchers focused on improving human health.

The GSK Award for Research Excellence (ARE) is one of the most prestigious and longstanding awards available to the Australian medical research community.  Please review full eligibility guidelines.

Nominations close at midnight on Friday 30th July 2021.

Awards contact

Academic Excellence
Office of the Pro Vice-Chancellor, Academic Excellence


The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.