Central Coast Clinical School

From 2021 thirty students will be allocated each year to the Central Coast Clinical School to complete the first 3 years of study in the Joint Medical Program.  The Central Coast Clinical School is committed to providing high quality education and research with a high level of student support.  The School is able to offer students a diverse experience with access to placements in both Gosford and Wyong hospitals, as well as a number of smaller public and private facilities.

Information about the Central Coast Clinical School can be found here.

Expression of Interest for Allocation to the Central Coast Clinical School

You will be able to lodge an expression of interest in commencing your studies in the Joint Medical Program at the Central Coast Clinical School when you lodge your direct University application.

Only applicants who are offered and accept a position at the University of Newcastle and who have lodged an Expression of Interest will be considered eligible for placement at the Central Coast Clinical School.

When allocating places to the Central Coast Clinical School priority will be given to applicants who have been placed on the Central Coast Priority List (see below).  Following the Priority List allocation, offers will be made down the ranked list of eligible applicants to fill the remaining places.

If following the above allocation there are vacant positions at the Central Coast Clinical School, students allocated to the University of Newcastle will be balloted to fill the vacant positions.

Central Coast Priority List

As part of a joint initiative between the University of Newcastle, the Central Coast Local Health District and State and Federal Government to improve the Central Coast’s access to world-class health education, priority will be given to residents of the region when allocating students to commence at the Central Coast Clinical School. Applicants who lodge an Expression of Interest in being placed at the Central Coast Clinical School will be asked to indicate their eligibility for the Central Coast Priority List .

To be placed on the Central Coast Priority List you must:

  • be currently residing on the Central Coast, based on the Local Government Area (LGA) definition of the Central Coast (refer below)
  • have resided on the Central Coast for at least the last 2 years
  • be able to provide supporting documentation to verify your place(s) of residence.

You must be able to verify / validate your place of residence for at least the last 2 years using the Central Coast Priority List Verification form.  The purpose of the form is to validate residence on the Central Coast, it is not a character reference.  The form must include the Central Coast location(s) in which you have resided (street address, town, postcode) and the period of residence.

Under the Local Government Area (LGA) definition, the Central Coast includes the following suburbs and towns.

PostcodeSuburb / Town
2083Bar Point, Cheero Point, Cogra Bay, Mooney Mooney
2250Calga, Central Mangrove, East Gosford, Erina, Glenworth Valley, Gosford, Greengrove, Holgate, Kariong, Kulnurra, Lisarow, Lower Mangrove, Mangrove Creek, Mangrove Mountain, Matcham, Mooney Mooney Creek, Mount Elliot, Mount White, Narara, Niagara Park, North Gosford, Peats Ridge, Point Clare, Somersby, Springfield, Tascott, Ten Mile Hollow, Upper Mangrove, Wendoree, West Gosford, Wyoming
2251Avoca Beach, Bensville, Bouddi, Copacabana, Davistown, Green Point, Kincumber, Kincumber South, Macmasters Beach, Picketts Valley, Saratoga, Yattalunga
2256Blackwall, Horsfield Bay, Koolewong, Little Wobby, Patonga, Pearl Beach, Phegans Bay, Wondabyne, Woy Woy, Woy Woy Bay
2257Booker Bay, Box Head, Daleys Point, Empire Bay, Ettalong Beach, Hardys Bay, Killcare, Killcare Heights, Pretty Beach, St Huberts Island, Umina Beach, Wagstaffe
2258Fountaindale, Kangy Angy, Ourimbah, Palm Grove, Palmdale
2259Alison, Bushells Ridge, Cedar Brush Creek, Chain Valley Bay, Crangan Bay, Dooralong, Durren Durren, Frazer Park, Freemans, Gwandalan, Halloran, Hamlyn Terrace, Jilliby, Kanwal, Kiar, Kingfisher Shores, Lake Munmorah, Lemon Tree, Little Jilliby, Mannering Park, Mardi, Moonee, Point Wolstoncroft, Ravensdale, Rocky Point, Summerland Point, Tacoma, Tuggerah, Tuggerawong, Wadalba, Wallarah, Warnervale, Watanobbi, Woongarrah, Wybung, Wyong, Wyong Creek, Wyongah, Yarramalong
2260Erina Heights, Forresters Beach, North Avoca, Terrigal, Wamberal
2261Bateau Bay, Berkeley Vale, Blue Bay, Chittaway Bay, Chittaway Point, Glenning Valley, Killarney Vale, Long Jetty, Magenta, Shelly Beach, The Entrance, The Entrance North, Toowoon Bay, Tumbi Umbi
2262Blue Haven, Budgewoi, Budgewoi Peninsula, Buff Point, Colongra, Doyalson, Doyalson North, Halekulani, San Remo
2263Canton Beach, Charmhaven, Gorokan, Lake Haven, Norah Head, Noraville, Toukley
2775Ginderman, Marlow, Spencer, Wisemans Ferry