They say that, on average, it would take nine hours to present an 80,000-word thesis to an audience.
Our competitors have just three minutes.

The Three Minute Thesis (3MT) competition is held annually for Higher Degree Research candidates across the University. In just three minutes, using only a static slide, participants present their research – what they’re doing, how they’re doing it and why.

This year our 13 finalists, representing a broad range of disciplines across the university, delivered their presentations virtually. Votes for the People’s Choice Award were open online for two weeks and an esteemed panel of judges had the difficult task of selecting the top three presentations. The competition culminated in the final awards ceremony on Tuesday 30 August, 2022.

Katie Robinson was awarded 1st place for her brilliant presentation Academic benefits through the combination of brain and body. The decision of the judges was affirmed by the wider community, with Katie also presented with the People’s Choice Award! Katie will now represent the University at the 2022 Virtual Asia-Pacific 3MT Competition and collects $5,250 towards her research expenses.

Congratulations to all the winners and finalists in this year’s competition!








Katie Robinson


Academic benefits through the combination of brain and body



Mattea Taylor

Environmental & Life Sciences

What Local Dangers Affect Our Mini Athletes



James Knox

Psychological Sciences

Men’s Mental Health: a Silent Crisis

People's Choice


Katie Robinson


Academic benefits through the combination of brain and body

Meet the 2022 Three Minute Thesis competition finalists

Aligned with the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals

2 - Zero hunger3 - Good health and well-being4 - Quality education5 - Gender Equality7 - Affordable and clean energy9 - Industry, innovation and infrastructure10 - Reduced inequalities14 - Life below water16 - Peace, justice and strong instituions

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.