Study Abroad

The University of Newcastle English Language Centre offers a range of programs for international institutions interested in study abroad opportunities for their students.

Our Study Abroad program runs for one year and allows students enrolled in overseas institutions to study with the University of Newcastle and receive credit for these studies at their home institutions.

The Study Abroad Program consists of two stages:

Stage 1: Integrated ELICOS Study

In this stage, students will integrate into our Intermediate and English for Academic classes to complete the following:

  • 20 weeks of English training
  • 20 hours of face-to-face per week

Students are required to acquire an Undergraduate Pass (EP) in their studies to successfully continue on to the next stage.

Stage 2: One Semester Undergraduate Study

In stage two, students will choose from four courses of relevant undergraduate programs from the university’s diverse offering.


  • Have completed at least one year of full-time study at home institution
  • English proficiency equivalent to TOEFL of more than 490


If you don’t meet the English requirements you can still proceed with Stage 2 by choosing 3 subjects (30 units) only and one of them must be ESLA1901 Academic Language Skills.

Our Extensive Experience

We have an extensive experience in offering a wide range of programs such as study tour, professional English training, short integrated programs, study abroad and exchange programs.


  • East China University of Science & Technology
  • Hohai University
  • Jilin University of Finance & Economy

South Korea

  • Dong Seoul College
  • Ulsan College
  • Ewha Women’s University
  • Cheju Halla University


  • Doshisha University
  • Fukuoka Jo Gakuin University
  • Hakodate University
  • Gunma National College of Technology
  • Kagoshima Junshin College
  • Kanto Gakuin University
  • University of Kitakyushu
  • Kumamoto University
  • Kyorin University
  • Miyazaki International College
  • Musashino University
  • Nagoya University of Foreign Studies
  • National Institute of Technology, Ube
  • Shitennoji University
  • Shohoku College
  • Tokyo Metropolitan University
  • Toyo Kasei University
  • Toyo Eiwa University
  • University of Electro-Communications
  • Yamaguchi University
  • Yamaguchi Prefectural University

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.