The Disability Research Network at the University of Newcastle, Australia, brings together researchers across all disciplines and Faculties of the University whose work has relevance to people with developmental or acquired disabilities.

The aim is to include all stakeholders in the Hunter Region, NSW, with a special interest in disability, disability research, disability research translation, and evidence-based disability policy and practice.

The Network's mission is to strengthen the Hunter Region's capacity of research in disability and help ensure that the translation of research findings inform policy and practice to improve the lives of people with disabilities and their families.

Included in the Network is the University's Centre for Special Education and Disability Studies (CSEDS), which brings together high-level expertise in research and practice centred on supporting individuals with a range of additional learning and participation needs.

Expressions of interest invited

Associate Professor Bronwyn Hemsley would like to invite expressions of interest from any person who wishes to be included in the network who might wish to engage through:

  • being a person with a disability or a family member who is interested in disability research
  • being a researcher of any discipline interested in disability research
  • implementing or translating the findings of disability research into policy and practice
  • implementing research led teaching in disability
  • engaging with consumers and their families in research and evidence-based practice in disability
  • being an industry member and wanting to support disability research through partnership with the Disability Research Network or its individual members or teams
  • building a collaborative disability research agenda in the Hunter region.

If you're interested in engaging with the Disability Research Network, please email Associate Professor Bronwyn Hemsley or contact her on +61 2 4921 7352.

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.