The Centre is governed by a Centre Management Committee consisting of the Director and Committee Chair (Professor Simon Springer), and Deputy Directors (Professor Sarah Wright and Associate Professor Michelle Duffy).

This committee will manage the Centre's funds, research and other activities, including shaping the Centre's research priorities. There is capacity for membership of the Committee to expand as the Centre grows and demands increase.

This committee will be responsible to the DVC (Research), through the Centre Director, for the performance of the Centre and for providing all of the necessary reporting and performance-based data for the Centre.

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.