The unit of evaluation is the impact itself, not the discipline, academic unit or individual. The EIA Trial will use the Socio-Economic Objective (SEO) Classifications maintained by the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

The four broad SEO clusters for evaluation in this Trial are:

  • Sector A – Defence
  • Sector B – Economic Development
  • Sector C – Society
  • Sector D – Environment

Submissions will be made according to the four digit SEO classifications within these broad sectors.

The fifth broad SEO cluster, Sector E – Expanding Knowledge, will not be used in the Trial as the expansion of knowledge is assessed through other mechanisms such as ERA.

Submissions and assessment will be guided by the following:

  • Time period - impacts to have occurred in the period 1 January 2007 to date of submission;
  • The underpinning research to have occurred since 1 January 1992;
  • Demonstrated impact only - not potential or partly recognised impact:
  • A maximum of five case studies for each of the four SEO Sectors (i.e. 20 in total) per institution;
  • A minimum of two case studies in three of the four SEO Sectors (i.e. 6 in total) per institution; 
  • Case Studies on prescribed templates;
  • Information sought on:
    • Context;
    • Details of the impact;
    • Underpinning research and research publications – submissions to draw the link to research quality;
    • Income and other relevant metrics;
    • Validation material available;
    • People involved in research and impact.