The University of Newcastle, Australia

Research integrity

UON is committed to conducting research with integrity, encompassing responsible and ethical research practices.

Anyone involved in conducting research at the UON must ensure their work is carried out responsibly, ethically and with integrity. The Australian Code for the Responsible Conduct of Research ("the Code") outlines key principles to support this.

Further information is available on the supporting responsible research page.

UON is committed to the highest standard of ethical practice in research involving or impacting on humans.

All human research projects conducted at the University, or by staff and students of the University, require ethical oversight.

UON's Human Research Ethics Committee (HREC) has responsibility for reviewing the ethical acceptability of human research and ensuring compliance with regulatory and legislative requirements, the National Health & Medical Research Council National Statement on Ethical Conduct in Human Research, and University policies relating to human research.

The University of Newcastle undertakes a range of biomedical and biological research, some of which may involve animals.

We are firmly committed to the ethical treatment of animals involved in research. We also ensure approved studies have merit and are conducted with integrity and scientific rigour.

We have an independent Animal Care and Ethics Committee which oversees the care and welfare of animals we work with. It’s made up of community members, animal welfare representatives, veterinary scientists and academics.

The Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) assists UON to meet the legislative requirements of the Gene Technology Act 2000, and National Health Security Act 2007, as well as monitoring microbiological practice against Australian Standards (AS/NZS 2243 series) and other aspects of biosafety related to research and teaching.

The Chemical and Radiation Technical Committee (CRTC) provides UON with a forum for the consideration of health and safety matters involving hazardous materials (other than biological) that may impact on the operations of the University and its community.

The managing concerns about research page provides advice about how UON will manage concerns relating to the research of UON researchers, research supervisors and other staff.

UON policies relating to research

Other UON policy documents relating to research are available in the Policy library.


Please email regarding research integrity enquiries at UON.