The University of Newcastle, Australia

Highlighted Researchers: Academic Division

Wollotuka Institute

Professor John Maynard

Indigenous Education and Research Indigenous History

Professor John Maynard's journey began with a desire to piece together a family history and has now seen him become one of the world's most prolific and respected voices on Indigenous history.

T: 0408 416 886

E: john.maynard@newcastle.edu.au

» Find out more

Dr Stephanie Gilbert

Indigenous Education and Research Indigenous Cultural Studies

Reflecting on our country's past and critically thinking about its future, Associate Professor Stephanie Gilbert is seeking to bring disparate communities together through the provision of culturally minded social spaces, literature and tertiary curricula.

T: (02) 4921 5356

E: stephanie.gilbert@newcastle.edu.au

» Find out more

Ms Karen Menzies

Indigenous Education and Research Social Work

Karen's research contributes to the removal of barriers preventing Aboriginal children from receiving best practice delivery of welfare, health, education, and law services.

T: (02) 4985 4568

E: karen.menzies@newcastle.edu.au

» Find out more

English Language and Foundation Studies

Conjoint Associate Professor Josephine May

History

Conjoint Associate Professor Josephine May is an historian of education specialising in the history of Australian education and enabling education.

E: josephine.may@newcastle.edu.au

» Find out more

Dr Anna Bennett

Research Engagement and Development

Dr. Anna Bennett has a PhD in Sociology and applies sociological theory and concepts to better understand social phenomena. Current research areas include: discourses of equity and participation in higher education, identities and subject positions in higher education, and notions and implications of neoliberalism.

T: (02) 4921 5378

E: anna.bennett@newcastle.edu.au

» Find out more

Dr Barry Hodges

Education

Dr Barry Hodges is seeking to define and defeat the challenges associated with sustained participation in enabling education programs.

T: (02) 4921 7138

E: barry.hodges@newcastle.edu.au

» Find out more

Dr Bronwyn Relf

Enabling Education

A big believer in the benefits of tertiary study, Dr Bronwyn Relf is looking to see what works – and what doesn’t work – within enabling education spaces in Australia.

T: (02) 4921 6131

E: bronwyn.relf@newcastle.edu.au

» Find out more

Mrs Sharlene Leroy-Dyer

Yapug (Enabling)

Controversially putting Corporate Australia under a microscope, Sharlene Leroy-Dyer is looking to magnify racial discrimination and other incidents of employer misconduct in the workplace.

T: (02) 49217935

E: sharlene.leroy-dyer@newcastle.edu.au

» Find out more