The University of Newcastle, Australia

Sports Awards

Friday, 6 September 2013

Celia Sullohern named Sports Person of The Year

Sports Person of The Year, Celia Sullohern

Cross country runner Celia Sullohern has been named Sports Person of The Year at the University of Newcastle Sports Awards. The prestigious title was presented by Vice-Chancellor Professor Caroline McMillen in front of over 180 guests, including sporting legend Peter Fitzsimons, at Newcastle City Hall on Friday evening.

Sullohern joins an illustrious group of past winners including Newcastle Jets player Ben Kantarovski, Paralympian Heath Francis OAM, and London Paralympian sailing gold medallist Liesl Tesch.

A current Bachelor of Physiotherapy student, Sullohern has won some of the globe's most challenging events including the Open Women's 8km event at the Oceania Cross Country Championships and the 8km National Cross Country championships.

NUsport CEO, Mr Chris Hicks, said the success of University of Newcastle past and present students clearly demonstrated the calibre of sports people from this region.

"Since 1955 the University has presented sporting awards that celebrate world-class performance and excellence. The Sports Awards acknowledge the outstanding contribution, hard work and dedication of individuals, teams and the organisations," he said.

The Sports Awards also recognised the sporting excellence of 17 students (past and present) and five University Sports Clubs including the Badminton Club, which was named Sports Club of the Year for attainment of high standards in sports administration.

Tia Brady (Track and Field), Sophie Stanwell (Heptathlon), Joshua Bennett (Cricket), Jessica Richardson (Rowing), Laura Harris (Triathlon), and Jessica Colwell (Ultimate Frisbee) were each awarded a prestigious University Blue for displaying outstanding sporting ability while representing the University of Newcastle.

For contribution to the administration and organisation of University sport, University Colours were awarded to Amelia Leotta (Football), Greg Preston (Hockey), Heidi Turon (Hockey), Andrew Godwin (Mountaineering), and Gabriella Sainsbury (Water Polo).

The University and Friends of the University presented eight sports scholarships to students currently balancing their academic and sporting pursuits. Recipients were Sophie Stanwell (Athletics - Heptathlon), Matthew Harris (Athletics - Decathlon), Kasimir Gregory, (Orienteering), Jessica Richardson (Rowing), David Graham (Skiing – Freestyle Moguls), Jessica Colwell (Ultimate Frisbee), Arjun Mahadevan (Water Polo), and Ashleigh Main (Water Polo).

The University of Newcastle Sports Awards are managed and presented by Newcastle University Sport (NUsport), which manages the health and fitness facilities, The Forum University and The Forum Harbourside.

  • Sheena Martin
  • Phone: +61 2 4921 8714

Related news